NaNoWriMo Countdown: 5 – Why NaNo?

I shouldn’t be writing this post.

What I should be doing is reading my history texts, perusing my essay sources, formulating theses, writing those weekly summaries, reading that book for the review, and so on.

ahh-procrastination

By this time next week, I’ll be saying much the same. Except, I’ll begin with:

“I shouldn’t be writing this novel.”

The reason, dear friends, is that next week I’ll be immersed in National Novel Writing Month (and hopefully you will, too).

People often question why I put myself through the intensity and deadlines that make NaNoWriMo seem so daunting. I could argue about the creative merits of such seat-of-your-pants writing. I could mention the encouragement from fellow writers, across the world. I bring up the atmosphere and energy that NaNoWriMo fills you with. It’s a response to a challenge. It’s a test to my fortitude as a writer. I could argue it is for bragging rights.

In reality, I could – and I have – argue any number of things to make people understand why I do NaNo , or perhaps even to justify why I do it. But I don’t expect you to truly understand unless you’ve taken part in the craziness that November brings writers every year. And, really, I don’t need to. NaNoWriMo is MY time. Believe it or not, it’s a relaxation. It forces me to forget about life for an hour or two every day and just write.

It is also proof that a person really can survive on coffee and chocolate and that, no, I don’t need eight hours of sleep to function normally.

I used to try to explain NaNo and offer up very thoughtful, in-depth, even philosophical answers to the question this post poses.

Nowadays, though, when asked why I do NaNoWriMo, I answer with the single, most-important factor in consideration. I answer without trying to sound like a snobbish writer. I answer without trying to explain my lifelong romance with writing and to explain the intricacies of how NaNo is a creative release, an amazing environment, etc.

I don’t do NaNo because other writers do it.

I don’t do NaNo to brag about it after.

I don’t do NaNo to connect with like-minded individuals around the world.

No, these things, and so many others, are byproducts of doing NaNoWriMo.

The real and most important reason – and probably the only valid one – why I do NaNoWriMo is because it is incredibly fun.

Participant-2014-Web-Banner

Thanks for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Demonria, Just Another Day, Life, Nanowrimo, Writing, Writing Devices | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Countdown: 5 – Why NaNo?

  1. The first time I did NaNoWriMo it was to prove to myself that I had the ability to write an entire novel-length work. But now, I totally agree, it is all about the fun. Although this year I am trying to push myself (because honestly, I think challenges are kinda fun) and decided to write my novel on Twitter. Because I want others to experience the fun too!

  2. Pingback: NaNo 2014 Day 8 | Side Quest Publications

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

