Here I Sit (A Poem)

I think that this is possibly one of the saddest poems I’ve ever written. It is not a blatant expression of aching and loneliness, but it has a more subtle approach. And I know that there is a bit of anger in there, but I remember feeling despondent when I wrote it. I know we can all feel this way sometimes, but this particular poem makes me extremely pensive and self-reflective. I don’t know if it’s the simple arrangement of these specific words or the emotion behind each phrase but, without a doubt in my mind, while I consider this to be one of my saddest poems, I also recognize it as one of my favourites.

Here I Sit

A Poem by William Louison

sadness

(Source: http://www.abqartists.com/stephen-barnes/images/sadness.jpg)

.

Here I sit

As time passes me

A candle lit

Unabashedly

.

This journal’s like a screen

This pen a waterfall

This paper won’t believe

This hand is too dull

.

Time to close the journal

Try something else

That won’t prosecute my soul

Or get me feeling sorry for myself

.

Forget about today

Forget about before

Forget about yesterday

Forget about tomorrow

.

Relish in my mind

Dive in the memories

Liking what I find

Forever stay with me

.

Friendly faces

Calling my name

Inviting places

Doing the same

.

But I can’t touch it

I can’t reach out and feel

Because here I sit

And that’s all that’s real

.

Faded photographs

Distorted pictures

Broken maps

And twisted figures

.

Here I sit

Never the same

Forgetting these thoughts

Not even sure of my name

.

Forget these fragments

Forget these times

Forget these friendships

No longer mine

.

Here I sit

Baited breaths

Keeping me

From losing it

.

The chance is gone

The future is over

My past is forgotten

Now I’m not sure

.

Why I stay

Rapture in sitting

Forever this way

Doing my bidding

.

Yet here I sit

As time creeps by

The candle’s unlit

And I’m too frayed to cry

tumblr_inline_mi6h2d8M1g1qz4rgp

Thanks for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Growing Up, Life, Poetry, Writing | Tags: , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Here I Sit (A Poem)

  1. It’s definitely sad, but I love the effect that being so eloquent in a sad time has, which is add a little bit of hope, I think!

  2. Definitely sad but beautifully written Will.
    Hugz ❤

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

