‘Tis The Season Of NaNoWriMo (Almost)

NaNoWriMo Participant 10                   Participant-100x100-2

2013-Participant-Facebook-Cover

Yes, that time of year is upon us once again. While most of the sorry souls stalking the streets are beginning to shiver in the cold, complain about the frost and warn the weather gods what will happen if it snows too soon, the writers of the town are jumping for joy. Not that there are many – which is good, because I don’t like competition – but there are enough.

                                        NaNoWriMo 2006 Winner_SmallNaNoWriMo 2007 Winner_SmallNaNoWriMo 2010 Winner02

Actually. It wouldn’t really matter how many of them there are. I’d still be excited. November is coming. National Novel Writing Month is coming. These words are nearly synonymous.

NaNoWriMo 2008 Participant_Icon02NaNoWriMo 2008 Winner_Small02NaNoWriMo 2009 Participant01NaNoWriMo 2009 Winner03NaNoWriMo 2011 Winner04Winner-100x100-2 2013-Participant-Square-Button

For the previous eight years, November has meant one thing and only one thing: the month where I get to furiously write a 50,000 word novel in thirty days. It sounds daunting, yes, but it’s really not that bad. Especially considering that NaNo is all about having fun and celebrating writers and writing, no matter HOW MUCH or how LITTLE they write. All that matters is that people write. And they do write. Some 700,000 people around the world participated.

For some people, NaNoWriMo is that extra encouragement to write when they don’t seem to have the time to otherwise. For others, it’s a fun atmosphere that they can put themselves in and meet some great writers around the world.

For me, it’s about the excitement. I’m all about excitement. And there is nothing more exciting than partaking in the craziness that is NaNoWriMo. And I love bragging rights to saying I’ve reached the 50k all eight times I’ve done it. Every year since 2006.

NaNoWriMo 2006 Winner_Large

I can still remember the first time I had ever heard of NaNoWriMo. It was early October of 2006. I was thirteen years old, in Grade 8. I’d been writing for as long as I could remember, but had only ever completed one novel – the embodiment of the previous three or so years of my life. It was 60,000 words long. So you could imagine my self-doubt when my mother came home from work one day and said that some of the Library Ladies were going to be doing this thing where they write a novel in a month. It took me three years to write that puppy. How could I possibly write a novel in a month?

I was skeptical. Could you blame me? But I decided it was worth checking out. As soon as I visited the website (www.nanowrimo.org) my eyes light up, my heart started beating a little faster and I knew that something magical was going to happen.

A month after that I was starting. My first NaNoWriMo. I reached the 50k – only because of a desperate final stretch on the 30th that saw me hit a word count of 50,008 by 11:55 pm) – and I literally jumped for joy. 😀 The sad part is, I still jump for joy when I reach that fifty thousand word count.

Honestly, I don’t know what to say other than what I’ve already said before. NaNoWriMo fricken’ rocks and you should do it. If you’re a writer, it’s perfect for you. If you’re not a writer, but have always been curious about it, it’s perfect for you. If you don’t fall into one of those categories, it’s probably not perfect for you. So, you know, if that’s you, you just wasted about four minutes of your time. Unless you’re a slow reader, in which case it was probably seven or eight minutes. But if it only took you two or three minutes to get through this, then I’ll take it as an insult and suggest you go back and re-read more carefully. That way we can avoid future disputes.

Anyway, I’m rambling. As I’m infamous for doing. You should’ve stopped reading thirty seconds ago. There’s nothing more intelligent coming.

Seriously.

Just stop.

Don’t you have something better to spend your time on, anyway?

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Life, Nanowrimo, Writing | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “‘Tis The Season Of NaNoWriMo (Almost)

  1. Wanted to do NaNoWriMo for years…maybe this year, I won’t make up an excuse as to why I can’t.

  2. Pingback: Looking at NaNoWriMo 2014 and Facing the Decision | J. C. Conway

  3. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Countdown – 4: What To Write… | What If It All Means Something

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

