Taking A Break

So, I haven’t blogged in about a week.

I’m not apologizing.

Get over it.

Just kidding. I’m not that mean or harsh. So, a part of me is sorry for the distance between my last post and this one here, but a part of me is just a little bit relieved. Truth be told, I got a little burnt out from everything, not just blogging.

I started my blog on October 15th, 2012 and between then and now I have posted over 260 times, blogging every single day except for one time in November, a short break at Christmas and one day this month. (That’s not including this last week). I’m really not sure if I ran out of ideas, because I don’t think that I did, but I really just got tired and overwhelmed. Perhaps it was not the time to start a second blog.

I had just finished finals at the end of April and yesterday was my FIRST day off after 28 days in a row working. I was putting in 60-70 hours a week between two jobs. That’s my plan for the rest of summer – I need to save money for school next year (which is really in about three months). So, I really needed a break. I haven’t had a day off (as in not working) since before my last final, so yesterday was pretty nice just to sit down and do nothing.

To be honest, for a while now, blogging started to feel like a chore. When that happens, I think you should take a break. It helped me get myself a little more organized and gave me a few extra hours each day to just relax. And now, I’m going to be going to British Columbia to visit my sister for a week. She lives up in Dawson Creek, which is fairly North (close to the south border of Yukon Territory – which is right beside Alaska). So, unfortunately, I will not be blogging during that time, either.

This means that I will be taking the rest of May OFF. I won’t be gone forever, however! I promise to get back to blogging as soon as June starts! I’ve already got some fresh ideas rolling around in my brain, and I’ve even written a few new posts already! I’m hoping a little bit of time away from blogging can reinvigorate myself and get me to realize why I started blogging last year. I can’t wait for you to see what I have in store (including more Chapters from Demonria, finishing off my Evolution of an Idea posts, more book reviews as I re-start my Bookends Of My Life series, new poetry, updates on my writing goals for the summer and the year, and much more for What If It All Means Something and new poetry for Messages, of course).

So, thanks for being dedicated readers, and I hope you ALL come back on June 1st. I will be here – after I have a nice trip to BC!

Until June,

-Will

Categories: Bookends Of My Life, Demonria, Just Another Day, Life, Poetry, The Evolution Of An Idea, Writing | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Taking A Break

  1. Will, do what you have to do. You’ve earned the time off!

  2. Life’s too short not to have fun. If blogging becomes a chore (like many things), take a break. You’ll enjoy it a whole lot more when you return, and your posts will be more nutritious as well! 😉 ((Been feeling the same way lately. Maybe it’s that time of year…)))

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

