The Collecter – An Update

I’m sure some of you knew that I like to collect coins – circulation coins and special edition sets from the mint.

If you didn’t know this, maybe you should read this.

Since I’ve been in school I haven’t had much of a chance to buy really anything. Working part-time, trying to find a way to pay for tuition and my car, phone, etc. can be a bit of a challenge – considering the ridiculous prices of tuition these days! Well, now that I’m done school for the summer I’m going to be working full time and, thus, making more money. While I still have not received my first full time cheque of this year, I did have some extra money kicking around.

I’ve been looking to buy a few new coins to add to my collection, but I was not in the position to afford them. While it probably would have served me better until next week when I get paid again to buy these coins, I’m glad I decided just to not worry about the money and buy a few that I wanted – all three that I purchased sold out pretty soon after I bought them. Once a con sells out at the mint, collectors have to go to secondary markets and online auctions, where they will most likely be paying a considerable mark-up on the original price. So, I am quite glad that I got these when I could.

And they came in the mail today! It’s so exciting!

Animal Architect $3 Bee and Hive coin

This is my $3 1/4 Fine Silver Bee and Hive Coin, the first in the Royal Canadian Mint’s Animal Architect series. (Fine silver is 99.99% pure silver, the finest possible. Sterling silver is generally about 92.5%)

Ducks Of Canada Mallard $10 Coin

This is my $10 1/2 Oz. Fine Silver Mallard Duck Coin, the first in the RCM’s Ducks of Canada series.

Group of 7 Lawren S. Harris Toronto Street, Winter Morning $20 coin

And this is my $20 1 Oz. Fine Silver Coin recreating the painting Toronto Street, Winter Morning by Canadian artist Lawren S. Harris, one of Canada’s very famous ‘Group of Seven’.

Silver coins are presented in weight by ounce of silver, and if you noticed each coin is a different size. To give you an idea, here are the coins beside a Canadian quarter (which is pretty much the same size as an American quarter).

IMG_1669IMG_1670IMG_1673

Please forgive my photography skills.

Are these exciting, or what? In my humblest of opinions I think the Royal Canadian Mint produces nicer coins than any other mint in the world (and a lot of people agree, too – not just Canadians). 😉

Thanks for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Life, The Collector | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Collecter – An Update

  1. Wow! Those are beautiful!

    • I know! Only 10,000 of each were made for the whole world, except that larger one of the painting (only 7,000 were produced)!! I’m such a nerd….hahah oh well

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

