A Pleasant Surprise…The Versatile Blogger Award

The other day I was sitting at home reading some Star Wars comics on my bed,

003

beside this adorable creature:

IMG_1224

when I got an e-mail on my phone saying that I had recieved a comment on my blog. Eager to read what some stranger who got sucked into my life had to say about my blog, I read the comment right away. I was shocked to discover that it was actually a nomination for the Versatile Blogger Award.

vb-awardDoubly exciting is the fact that I have never received this award before. It’s my first time. But, before I get into all of that, I need to acknowledge the person who nominated me.

William Shane Ellis of http://shanesbookblog.com/ is an incredible person with an intriguing story and unique perspective on life. He delivers pieces of his life to his readers through engaging posts, and crafts emotionally fueled poetry that is both relatable and inspiring. I’ve only known Shane for a month or so, but I consider him a friend. Especially now that he nominated me! πŸ˜‰

So, I guess I’m supposed to state seven things about myself. What can I tell you that I haven’t already told you? Hmm…

(Some of these some of you may already know).

1. I’m a Sagittarius, for what that’s worth (although I don’t believe in horoscopes and all that).

2. My best friend is also my cousin.

3. When I was little (like age 5-8ish) I wanted to grow up and become a farmer.

4. I’ve got a pretty impressive LEGO Star Wars collection.

004

photo 2

5. My dog’s name is Bruce Wayne.

Bruce Wayne

6. I think I have OCD, but only for certain things. For instance, my room can be a mess, but my bookshelf in my room better be pristine with every book perfectly lined up with its neighbour.

7. My mom calls me “The Collecter”. More on this here.

Now, I will pass this award onto some other, fellow bloggers who inspire me and who write enjoyable posts that are not only versatile and unique but also very, very enjoyable:

Lily Paradis – A fellow writer, NaNoWriMoer, university student, nerd and blogger. While she doesn’t post every day, when Lily does post it is well worth waiting a day or two for. Sometimes her posts are inspiring, sometimes they are simple, sometimes they are funny and sometimes they won’t make you laugh, but they will still make you smile. She shares pieces of her life as both a writer and a human being, andΒ  you will not be disappointed if you check out her blog and even get to know her a little bit.

Carrie Sullivan Journey Of A Soul – Here is another fellow writer, NaNoWriMoer and blogger. As an emerging, Indie-publishing author, she definitely is on a level I’d love to reach some day. Carrie’s conviction is greater than words could describe. Her sense of humour finds a perfect home in her blog posts, and her love of writing makes even the simplest of her blog’s posts enjoyable to read. Her words of wisdom to me have been priceless in value, and her encouraging attitude and outlook on life has only reinforced my opinion of her. In terms of emerging authors, she’s definitely someone that I look up to.

Jay W Carmichael Writing in the Cold – ‘Interesting’ would not be sufficient to sum up this young man. Intriguing might not even do it. There’s just something captivating about Jay’s writing style and storytelling ability, that makes his blog – whether he’s posting about literature, politics, plants, family or personal growth – very easy to read. More than that, it’s enjoyable. Jay presents a fresh perspective to an otherwise redundant subject matter – and that subject if whatever he chooses to discuss each day. And while he does all of this with aΒ blasΓ©, don’t-give-a-damn-what-you-think attitude, this guy’s still got more class than most.

Lori Crane a day in the life of patootie – This versatile blog seems only to be a reflection of its versatile author – Lori Crane. The professionalism she portrays through her blog is impressive, considering she still manages to come across as a likeable, approachable and relatable person. She has allowed her life experiences to seep into her writing, making it all the more enjoyable. She’s also a published author who has left me with many wise admonitions and even more encouragement., and it’s this bright personality that shines through her blog and gives life to otherwise mundane words.

Rebecca Colson This is your real mother speaking… –Β If I told you that this amazing woman is basically my mother, you might wonder what I was implying, and whether I was being complimentary or insulting. The talented Mrs. Colson, however, would just tell you – in her own subtly humourous way – that I must have been switched at birth or that I was her one child that she put up for adoption ( πŸ˜‰ although I’m not sure there’s any truth to any of that ). What I can’t understand is why she would want another child in her house? Firstly, she has a full house already and, secondly, I’m just a grouchy, reclusive university student – one of those ‘educated’ types, you know. And if you ask her husband about me, he may tell you that I’m only so nice to Rebecca because of the generous cheques he sends me each month. However, no matter how you slice it, there’s and indescribable something about Rebecca’s blog that pulled me in and kept me there. I think it’s her realness and her ability to convey her down-to-earth-ness through her writing. In a world of flakes, she’s an original and the definite real deal.

Anyway, if you check out Rebecca’s blog you’ll find some posts about her New Mexican home, her loving children who seem to live only to tease her and her supportive husband. You may also find some engaging writing (which I promise to be getting back to reading!) and real beautiful photos. There’s something all of these posts have in common, though. They are all fun, light-hearted and written by an infectious woman with a great outlook on life and a knack for telling a captivating story.

So please check out this other blogs. Each one of these that I named are unique in their own way, making this collective group fairly diverse and versatile (in the spirit of the award).

Thanks again to Shane, the amazing friend, writer and poet who nominated me.

And to everyone else, thanks for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Blog Awards, Family, Growing Up, Life, Photography, Poetry, Writing | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “A Pleasant Surprise…The Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Congratulations ❀

  2. Thank you so much for your kind words! I am honored!

    • And you should be. Those words came from me, after all.
      But, in seriousness, you are a talented person and you have been there to help me out through my first self-publishing experience, and you didn’t even know me. You’re pretty much a hero. =D

  3. Will! I’m honored, once again. Really I am. Also congrats to you on this award! You deserve it. What a nice, mid-exam study break. Also, you cat looks a lot like my cat which sort of creeps me out, I’ll have to take a picture of mine so you can see. She’s currently sitting on the right side of my keyboard which is making it super hard to use those keys and this is taking forever to type. (And I just made it even longer by adding that sentence, but oh well.)

    Congrats again, and thank you so much! πŸ™‚

    • Oh, you’re welcome. Like I said, since I stumbled across your blog some months ago, it’s become one of my favourites. Easily.
      So, thank you for sharing your blog with us! =D

  4. shanesbookblog

    Thanks for such an awesome shout out man! =]

    Your adorable creature is absolutely adorable haha!

    Love your Star Wars Lego collection, and obviously I feel your pain about the book OCD thing, I share that curse with you as well!

    I always enjoy reading your posts, for some reason you just seem to make anything and everything enjoyable…That is one of the reasons why I can’t wait to read your books!

    (Next weekend I shall purchase them and start with your collection of Poetry first)

    Sorry for not being able to do it sooner, working only part time has hindered my book collecting ability’s for the moment, but it’s only temporary! I’m sure I will become a shopaholic once I get my full time hours back.

    • Hey, no worries man! I’m just excited you’re interested in my books.
      And thanks for all the support, I’m glad that people get my humour (because I can get pretty sarcastic sometimes). Thanks again for everything.

  5. Thanks for including my blog in related articles section. And by the way congratulations on winning the award :).

  6. barbmca

    Congratulations

  7. Gee, Will! That was quite the shout out. I’m NEARLY speechless! Thanks so much. πŸ™‚ How much is he sending you?! πŸ˜‰ Teasing…

    • Well I only nominated you so you’d stop by and ‘like’ my post and I only did the shout out so you’d comment, thus increasing my stats. Plus that money…it’s like a win-win for me, and ignorant you is left in the middle thinking I actually meant a word I said… πŸ˜‰
      Of course I’m only teasing, too!
      I figured instead of a long, dreary list of links for blogs that I would shorten the list, thus allowing me the chance to write a little blurb about each nominee. I kind of like this better, because it’s a bit more personal I guess.

  8. congrats, luv! (Also, your cat is indeed adorable!)

  9. Reblogged this on This is your real mother speaking… and commented:
    I’m taking a break from blogging for a while, but I was touched and honored to be mentioned recently in a post by my friend and ‘adopted’ son, blogger Will Louison, over at What If It All Means Something. He so kindly nominated me for The Versitile Blogger Award and wrote some very sweet things about me and my blog. Thanks, Will! You’re the best. πŸ˜€

  10. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award … Naw! ^_^ | Writing in the Cold

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

