The Bookends Of My Life – 9: ‘Where Did This Appreciation Come From?’ Or Rather ‘What’s Wrong With Me?’

Have you ever realized that your appreciation for particular things can increase as you get older? Perhaps this has to do with maturity (although I have none). Maybe it’s in the change of taste and interest (although mine were cemented since I was a toddler, and they have yet to change – go Superman! πŸ˜‰ ) It definitely can’t be my patience level – patience, that is, to be able to sit down and read a dry, boring book.

Whatever it is or isn’t, something has definitely changed. Something clicked in my mind, opening up possibilities and closing my narrow mind that is often all too rutted in Star Wars and Star Trek.

If you haven’t clued in yet (some people are so SLOW to catch on), I’m talking about books that one may have read when one was younger – mid teenage years, around 15/16 – and at that particular time, said person may have hated that book. Well, that said person is me – go figure – and that said book is Great Expectations by Charles Dickens.

BE6 - RU2I first read this book for a book report in Grade 10. We had the option to choose whichever book we wanted and, for some unknown reason, I decided it would be a great idea to choose this one. I probably did it in a move to impress the teacher because I was reading such an ‘elevated’ work, blah, blah, blah… (and I did get like 95% or something – but that is beside the point).

Anyways, I was 15 or 16 at the time and I HATED this book. I thought it was so boring and so awful, that I’d never read anything WORSE – except, dare I say it, Margaret Atwood… πŸ˜‰

I was so negative of this book for so long…until, a few months ago, something changed. It was like I hit a brick wall or something, shook my head to wake up from the impact and realized that maybe I was being too hard on the book. I realized that there were parts in the book that I actually enjoyed.

I guess my dislike for school projects overtook my ability to appreciate what I was reading (which might be why I’m not a fan of Shakespeare, or Ender’s Game, or Death of a Salesman). So, for the last few months I’ve been letting my new-found ideas of Great Expectations marinade in my head, until I decided to give it another try. While I’ve only read the first chapter – and won’t get around to reading much more until after my finals this month – I was surprised at how much I was enjoying what I read. I look forward to reading it this summer, without any prejudice, preconceived notions or judgments.

Moral of the story: give something a chance, and don’t let your bitterness and negativity ruin anything for you. Also, try something you don’t normally; read something you wouldn’t normally read. You might be surprised what you find.

Thanks for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Bookends Of My Life, Growing Up, Life | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Bookends Of My Life – 9: ‘Where Did This Appreciation Come From?’ Or Rather ‘What’s Wrong With Me?’

  1. I can certainly identify with your impatiece Will. I write all day and fall asleep after two paragraphs of any book I attempt to read 😦 Your blog inspires me because it is honest and straightforward. I nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. go to my site to find all of the details. http://ellynbaker.wordpress.com/
    I look forward to reading more from your blog.

    • Thank you so much! πŸ™‚ I’ve glad you’ve been enjoying my blog, and thank you for all of the encouraging comments. While I really appreciated the nomination, I actually just got this award a few weeks ago and did a post on it, so I feel like I shouldn’t do another one devoted to it. However, I will definitely make mention of your kindness in an upcoming post! =D You made my day, so thank you so very much!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

