Thank Me For Inspiring You! I Mean…Uh…

very-inspiring-awardIt happened again.

I must’ve been really good.

It actually almost feels like this is from Santa Claus (because that’s how good I’ve been).

Anyways, I’m exhilarated and over joyed to accept this award. I know what some of you are saying:

“Hasn’t he had this one before?”

And, yes, the answer is indeed that I have had this one before. Only a few times…I’ve actually lost count. (I actually know exactly how many times I’ve been nominated for this award – I just don’t want to indulge that trade secret, lest you get jealous). 😉

But, in seriousness (if I can even be that), I decided to accept this award and post about it (again!) for a few reasons. First and foremost, I want to give a huge shout out to the awesome woman who nominated me, a fellow blogger and talented writer, Lori Crane.

Her blog is a day in the life of patootie and I love every post on it. She’s also written a book, which she’s posted about, called Okatibee Creek, which I can’t wait to read. (It’s out now, so you know – I found my copy on amazon).

So, please do go and check out her blog and her book (and upcoming books, as well). I promise you, with all of my heart, that you won’t be disappointed.

Now, the second reason why I decided to post this award (again!) is the seven things I get to say about myself. I’ve posted this award every time I’ve received it (well, almost every time), but I’m pretty sure I only did the seven things once – on my first nomination. I thought it would be fun – for me, anyway – to indulge in some self love and talk more about me (as if I don’t do enough of that already).

So, here goes the seven things:

1 – Shall we get the boring one out of the way first? Okay…so I’m a second year university student (just about finished second year) seeking a bachelor’s degree in Classical, Medieval and Renaissance Studies (a fancy name for History from the Roman Empire to Pre-1800s-ish) with a minor in French (oui, je peux parler francais, mais je ne suis pas francais. Je suis ne a Saskatoon, en Saskatchawan. Mes parents sont anglophones, cependant j’ai soulement commence a etudier francais a nuevieme annee – I still haven’t figured out how to do all of the accents on WordPress). Well, that was just me showing off…so, I figure I should get back to what I was talking about. I’m kind of juggling between two career choices at the moment. After my history degree, I’m going to go into either Law or Journalism (but I’m leaning slightly towards journalism).

2 – I work as a Dietary Aide in the kitchen of a retreat and conference centre, called Queen’s House. It’s quite the interesting job…pretty laid back and easy (but not TOO easy, now). I also work once a week at Taco Time. I used to work there more, but when I got my job at Queen’s House last September, I had to really cut back my hours at Taco Time. I didn’t want to quit, though, because I’ve been there for nearly four and a half years, I’m head supervisor (when I’m not working with my boss, who is the owner and manager, I’m in charge – there is no assistant manager), I love my boss and it’s a good job to fall back on if Queen’s House can’t give me the hours I need. Also, come summer, it’s nice to have two jobs so that I can work a crapload, make a crapload and watch it disappear when I write a cheque in the thousands of dollars to the University of Saskatchewan. Do you feel sorry for me yet?

3 – I’m the youngest of four children, but we’re all fairly close in age. My oldest sibling, my sister Hillary, is only 4.5 years older than I am. I think I have a fairly good family, but I don’t get to see them too often. I still live at home with my parents – the U of S is in Saskatoon, here – but all of my other siblings live out of town – 1,5 and 12 hours away, respectively.

4 – I’ve got amazing parents, who happen to be two of my best friends. They just celebrated their 25th Anniversary this January – and at only 42 and 44, they’re still younger than ALL of my friends’ parents.

5 – Ever seen the show Married With Children? You know how Al Bundy talks about his glory days of High School Football? Well, I had my ‘glory days’, too. Elementary school…I gotta tell you…what a great time. I was the most popular kid in my class AND I had the highest grades (near-perfect scores, if not perfect, I might add). The girls used to keep a book of who they all had a crush on. They liked me the most (what happened from then until now). I was valedictorian for Grade 8 Grad (all but two people of my 40-something sized class voted for me, and I wasn’t the only one running, either – there were four of us). Oh the good old days…. lol I’m just kidding (well, these tidbits of facts that I told you are true). I really don’t miss elementary school, or high school. The only thing I’m glad about was that I was able to wear a Superman t-shirt nearly EVERY day for 13 years of school (Kindergarten to Grade 12) and not get made fun of once for it! Too bad other schools weren’t as accepting of nerds as mine was…

6 – I practice a Filipino martial art called Sikaran (it’s extremely similar to Tae Kwon Do). I’ve been taking it for eight years and I got my black belt two years ago. It gives me enough exercise so that I can come home and sit down, read, write, play video games and whatever else I’m doing when I’m lazy and not pack on the pounds (thankfully! Hey, I’ve got an ‘image’ to uphold here).

7 – I’m really thankful for all of my readers, and all of the crap you have to put up with when reading my blog. I know I ramble (but you love it), I know I’m insensitive and blatantly rude at times (but you still laugh) and whatever I’m doing, I know I’m doing something right (because you keep coming back). Thanks everyong! 🙂

And now, the third and final reason why I chose to post this award again. I figured it would be a good chance to nominate some people I’ve not yet nominated (namely, those I’ve started following since last time I got this award).

Here we go:

http://keeperofthesword.wordpress.com/ A unique approach to blogging, and a refreshing point of view in the blogosphere. Also a fellow writer.

http://radioactiveyeball.wordpress.com/ Check it out just for the poetry, and stay for all of the decadent other treats this blogger has waiting for you.

http://vdemetros.wordpress.com/ Inspiring. I feel that’s all I need to say about this one.

http://lilyparadis.com/ A nerd just like me – in fact, she may even be the female version of myself. But, beyond that, her blog is quirky and fun.

http://smallerhalf.wordpress.com/ The Smaller Half makes a big impact and gets your head thinking. Really thinking.

http://thesenseofajourney.com/ A down to earth kind of blog, with a blogger that can put a smile on your face every post.

http://mywritetoread.wordpress.com/ Some of the best poetry I’ve read. Ever. Period.

Thanks for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Blog Awards, Family, Growing Up, Life, Poetry, Writing | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Thank Me For Inspiring You! I Mean…Uh…

  1. shanesbookblog

    Congrats on the award! Cant wait until i get my first award on here…if I ever do get one that is LOL. I Really enjoyed your post. You have a ton of enthusiasm yet at the same time it was not a overly serious “Thank you/Acceptance speech” it was modest yet full of details which I believe is what you were aiming for. I am new to Blogging and social media But If you get a chance in the near future… check out my blog and if at all possible leave me some feedback on what you think of my blog so far and my content. I would really like to get your opinion on it since you are a fellow Writer/Blogger. I Have only been seriously writing for about a week now and it shows in my writing but over time I am certain that I will refine my ability’s and improve on my problem areas. Congrats again on the reward! ~Shane

    • Thanks so much for the great comment! I’m glad you enjoyed my post. And I would be more than happy to check out your blog. I love reading the blogs of fellow writers.

  2. Congrats and thanks so much for passing it to me as well!! I probably can’t do it, but doesn’t mean I’m not still excited to see my name there. 😉 Ah, now I feel guilty…

    • No, it’s okay if you can’t do it. Just take two seconds to show it off in a post at least. Far as I’m concerned, this award is yours whether you choose to share and write the things for it or not. 🙂 Don’t feel guilty, either!

  3. Congrats, again! You’re going to need to get a bigger virtual bookshelf, or a wall… or wherever you plan to keep these things. I think WordPress is hiding posts from me, I just found a slew of things that I’ve apparently missed over the past few days, but I’m glad this one re-surfaced!

    I’m beginning to think I don’t deserve these nominations that you’re giving me, and therefore you’re inspiring me to try and blog more so that I actually DO deserve it! So excellent job there, living up to your award yet again 🙂

    By the way are you doing Camp Nanowrimo? I thought you probably weren’t because of your final exams and all of that…. I’ve never done it, but I think I’m going to try this year because you can set your own word goal so it’s a little bit easier. But then I feel like I’m cheating by not going to the full 50,000…. writer problems.

    • I think you deserve them. Your blog IS quirky and fun and inspiring. You don’t have to post every day, or even every week, to have a great blog. I keep thinking about your post with the leggings in it or the one about your school notes…and it’s posts like those that I decide to nominate you. Don’t worry, I’m not nominating you because we’ve become friends. I nominated you because I like your blog and you’re not afraid to talk about and share your interests, whatever they may be – and that is inspiring.
      I’m actually not even totally sure what Camp NaNoWriMo is. Maybe I’ll have to check it out and get back to you…haha

      • Aww, well thank you. That really means a lot! I just wish I could blog more often, like you do, so sometimes I feel like I’m not around here enough. But thank you very much! 🙂

        I wrote a post on it this morning! You should look into doing it if you have time! You set your own word goal, so really it could be like… 5,000 if you wanted. Pretty cool.

        • Okay, that is kind of cool. I will check it out. I really know nothing about it. So, maybe tomorrow I’ll read more in to it.

  4. A really interesting post, and a lucky, since it introduced you to me nicely. You have a nice way with words and a bit of humor. I find your writing very real, but as to a career source, pick Law over Journalism; it’s less corrupt.

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I’ve enjoyed your blog for some time, and we’ve even had some discussions on some of your posts (if you remember me) haha And as for career, both Law and Journalism are like ‘second’ choices because my dream is to be a famous author….but until that happens, I have to bear it out in the ‘real’ world! 😉 Thanks again for the encouraging comment!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

