The Wise Words of Gandalf

Well, the title says it all. Need I say more?

Well I will say this. J.R.R. Tolkien is a remarkably brilliant writer, and Ian McKellen is one of the greatest actors ever. Period.

When the magical world of Tolkien and the superior ability of McKellen come together, we are left with perhaps the greatest character portrayal in movie history. McKellen brings to life the wonder and wisdom of Gandalf and, even now, the most memorable quotes from The Lord of the Rings come from Gandalf. Whether they were written in the novels or added by the screenwriter is beside the point. McKellen makes you believe every word he is saying and, in an almost subtle way, becomes the most moving, powerful and emotional character in The Lord of the Rings.

So what is this wisdom I’m speaking of? Well, let me share with you just a few quotes.

A wizard is never late, Frodo Baggins. Nor is he early. He arrives precisely when he means to.

 

Bilbo Baggins: Good morning.

Gandalf: What do you mean? Do you wish me a good morning or mean that it is a good morning whether I want it to be or not or that you feel good this morning or that it is a morning to be good on?

 

Many that live deserve death. Some that die deserve life. Can you give it to them, Frodo? Do not be too eager to deal out death in judgment. Even the very wise cannot see all ends.

 

End? No, the journey doesn’t end here. Death is just another path… One that we all must take. The grey rain-curtain of this world rolls back, and all turns to silver glass… And then you see it.

 

Bilbo Baggins: I have never used a sword in my life.

Gandalf: And I hope you never have to. But if you do, remember this: true courage is about knowing not when to take a life, but when to spare one.

 

Frodo: I wish the ring had never come to me. I wish none of this had happened.

Gandalf: So do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us.

 

movies_gandalf_grass_hills_the_lord_of_the_rings_the_hobbit_gandalf_the_grey_footpath_1920x1200_w_Wallpaper_1024x1024_www.wallmay.net

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Bookends Of My Life, Life, Quotes, Writing | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “The Wise Words of Gandalf

  1. snowslipper

    Reblogged this on snoozeyalose and commented:
    Thanks for sharing!

  2. I particularly like the wise not seeing all ends quote. I love Gandalf, too 🙂

  3. I don’t even have words for this. I was sitting here going through my reader and all I saw was “Gandalf” and “Ian McKellen” and knew it was going to be good. And then I saw that you wrote it. Made my day!

    • HAHA! That’s awesome! 😀 I’m so glad you enjoyed it. I totally knew that you would! I’m kind of exciting that I made this post. I’ve gotten 8 new blog followers today, as well as more views I’ve had in one day in LONG time and this post made it into my ‘Top 10 Posts’ list (based on number of likes). Who would’ve thought so many people love Gandalf also? Well, I’m glad they do. They should. Besides, it’s pretty good for me, too! 🙂

      • Lord of the Rings posts really get you places! After my nerdy post that you found about the leggings (which I’m still waiting for, by the way. Australia: 1, Lily: 0) I gained a TON of followers from that post, and more people have liked that one than almost anything I’ve ever posted. And most of my google searches are “Lord of the Rings tattoo” in the little “google searches that led to your blog” or whatever box on stats. So maybe the moral of the story here is that we all need to post more about LOTR. Which I definitely wouldn’t mind.

        • Yeah…maybe we’ll have to try some more of the blogging gallants to Middle Earth. They are definitely worth the time and effort (and not just because the subject matter is fun) 😉

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

