The Sunshine Award

I got another award. Yay! It’s been a while since I got one (hint, hint), but this is one that I’ve never received before. It’s called, if you haven’t figured out already, The Sunshine Award. Apart from the fact that this makes me think of that creepy baby in the sun from the Teletubbies, I’m honoured to have been nominated.

So, what is The Sunshine Award?

The Sunshine Award is an award given by bloggers to other bloggers. The recipients of the Sunshine Award are: β€œBloggers who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogsphere”. The way the award works is this: Thank the person who gave you the award and link back to them. Answer questions about yourself. Select 10 of your favourite bloggers, link their blogs to your post and let them know they have been awarded the Sunshine Award!

sunshine-award

Now, to the important stuff. I was nominated by Jay W Carmichael (yes, he was featured in a ‘Spotlight’ post two weeks ago). His blog, Writing In The Cold is really an inspiration for me. I read every single post Jay writes, and have been doing so diligently for as long as I’ve been blogging. Not only is he a fun guy who knows how to draw people in with his writing, what he has to say makes an awful lot of sense – something we don’t get too much of these days. If nothing else, his style is both fresh and unique, and I recommend that you check out his blog. I personally guarantee (for what that’s worth) that you will not be disappointed.

Now, back to the award. There are a few rules:

1) You answer the ten questions below
2) You nominate ten further people to accept the award

Well, here goes nothing!

What inspired you to start blogging?

I just decided to give it a try one day. I thought it would be a great atmosphere to share some of my creative writing and receive some feedback. It’s been a great experience so far.

How did you come up with the name to your blog?

Two words:

Chantal Kreviazuk

Okay, so that’s a name really, but let’s not get technical.

Chantal Kreviazuk is an extremely talented singer, songwriter, pianist and performer. Her music has inspired me more than any other artist. Her voice gives me goosebumps as soon as she starts singing. And her lyrics hit you in the heart. I guess you could say that I’m a little obsessed, but she is insanely talented (and even better live).

Oh yeah, and she’s Canadian.

What is your favourite blog that you like to read?

Well, I will provide you with a list of ten at the end of these questions. Obviously the blogs I’m nominating are going to be my favourites (but there were a lot of runner-ups).

Tell about your dream job.

Professional writer. I would love to be a world-famous author. I would love to be able to walk into any bookstore, ANYWHERE, and see my book on a shelf. That would be pretty cool.

So, really, my dreams aren’t THAT big…

Is your glass half full or half empty?

Honest to God, sometimes I feel like the glass has tipped over and spilled everywhere.

And I’m just too damn lazy to clean up the mess.

If you could go anywhere for a week’s vacation, where would you go?

Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, Canada. It’s way up North, close to Alaska. I got to go there once before, when I was fourteen. I would love to go again – this time in summer, though.

What food can you absolutely not eat?

Potato soup. I don’t know why, I just can’t do it.

Dark chocolate or milk chocolate?

My favourite food is chocolate…so if it’s chocolate, I’ll eat it.

How much time do you spend blogging?

Usually 30-60 minutes a day. This last week, though? Probably 30-60 minutes a week πŸ˜‰

Do you watch tv – if so, what are some of your favorite shows?

Hmm…where to begin?

Star Trek, Star Trek: The Next Generation, Star Trek: Deep Space Nine, Star Trek: Voyager

So, clearly I LOVE Star Trek. I also LOVE, LOVE, LOVE The X-Files. The newer version of Battlestar Galactica. Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles. 3rd Rock From The Sun. Little Britain.

Okay, so what about shows that are actually on TV right now (not counting re-runs)?

The Big Bang Theory. The Walking Dead. The Following.

All of these shows are recommended, by the way. But I better stop now, or this list will go on. And on. And on.

Okay, so which ten blogs do I nominate for The Sunshine Award. If I could, I would nominate Jay (because he’s awesome, his blog rocks, and I’ve already nominated him for every award I’ve received) but he just got this award, obviously.

So, here are the ten nominees:

http://thisisyourrealmotherspeaking.wordpress.com/

http://cjsullivanauthor.blogspot.ca/

http://lilyparadis.com/

http://thewritingmonkey.wordpress.com/

http://acquaintancewithletters.wordpress.com/

http://toofulltowrite.wordpress.com/

http://sillyrobots.wordpress.com/

http://cindydejager.wordpress.com/

http://shakeitupwillie.wordpress.com/

http://radioactiveyeball.wordpress.com/

http://smallerhalf.wordpress.com/

Okay, so that was really eleven…but you probably wouldn’t have noticed if I didn’t say anything.

So, thanks Jay for the nomination.

And thanks to you all for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Blog Awards, Life, Writing | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “The Sunshine Award

  1. That was a great read! Especially your answers to the “glass half full or empty” question and “what can’t you eat” – I didn’t see potato soup coming hahaha. I actually was on the train home reading this and I LOL-ed very very loudly reading your clever responses, and everyone looked at my face. Thanks for cheering the day up, Will πŸ™‚

    • I love when you LOL in public and people give those strange looks. Makes me feel like I’m crazy…haha but I’m glad that I could cheer up your day. I took inspiration from your clever and funny responses to your questions! Thanks again, Jay!

  2. I’m listening to the song now. Very cool! I love it when art inspires art. And thank you so much for nominating me! I’ll have fun passing it along! πŸ˜€

    • Yeah, it’s a great song. She wrote it with her husband, who is the lead singer of Our Lady Peace. You may know them. And you definitely deserve the award! I look forward to reading your responses to the questions! πŸ™‚

  3. Congratulations! You’re just piling up nominations left and right…. so clearly your dream of seeing your books on every bookshelf everywhere isn’t that far off! πŸ˜‰ And thank you again for nominating me, you have no idea how flattering that is!

    • Hey, you won me over with your “To Which My Nerdiness Reaches A New Level” post, and I’ve been hooked ever since. Tell your professor that Canadian bloggers not only shine like the sun, but they’re pretty nice, too! =D

  4. Your favourite food is chocolate? So is mine! That is weird.
    Thanks for nominating me. πŸ˜€ I’ll do the award (or at least start) when I get back. Playing piano for people today, scary haha

  5. I just about didn’t read this post – out of pure jealousy. πŸ˜‰ ‘He got nominated for another award? Dang!’ I was thinking…but because I am fond of you and couldn’t NOT support you in your success, I read it. And what a nice surprise was waiting for me at the end! Thanks for the nomination, Will. πŸ™‚ (my hubby is going to be SO broke… πŸ˜‰

    • I know. Early Christmas for me…none for your family! πŸ™‚ Thanks for the support and surprises are nice!!

  6. monkeyfacekim

    Congrats! Your answers made me laugh, the glass half full one was my favorite. I’m trying to filter my words here so I don’t sounds like a freak, I’m so happy, but thank you SO much for nominating me! πŸ˜€ I’ll have fun answering these questions πŸ™‚

    • And I will definitely have fun reading your responses! You definitely deserve this award! πŸ™‚ The spirit you convey through your blog posts shines and always makes me come back for me!

  7. Shake It Up, Willie!

    Thanks Will. I’m very flattered.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

