Just Another Day – 9: Enough Is Enough

So, it snowed today. Again. For like the millionth time.

It’s funny, because you think I’m exaggerating.

Except I’m not.

Nor am I exaggerating when I say the massive mounds on my front yard are now six feet tall.

snowWe normally get a lot of snow in Saskatoon…but I think this year takes the cake for probably the last decade. The winter started out normal…snow in October, followed by a cold Halloween and even more snow in November.

Usually, though, December is fairly nice. Sunny, with temperatures at a comfortable -20 degrees Celsius, and not a whole ton of snow. There is usually enough to colour everything white, and have piles on the lawn about half my height, but it’s rare that those piles get taller than I am (and I’m 5’11”).

This year, the snow never really stopped. For a while, it was snowing every single day. That’s a lot of shoveling. For a lazy, sit-inside person like me….that’s a lot of work.

I don’t mind it most of the time. Today was nice because the weather was just beautiful. Sunny, not too freezing. Shoveling snow is okay when it’s -10 outside. However, it’s only been this nice for the last couple of days. Before that was so miserable and cold…

One day, a few weeks ago, it got to -50 degrees here and on that same day Saskatoon – where I live – was the same temperature as Antarctica. You know it’s cold when…

But we survive here. We get through it. Growing up in Saskatoon, I’m kind of used to the weather and nothing really surprises me. I can handle the cold and the snow. I’ve spent nearly half my life surrounded by snow because winter is usually five months long here.

So, while I complain about shoveling, I start to think that I have it pretty good. I think about a friend of mine who is from the Philippines. He never saw snow in his life before he moved to Canada two years ago. He went from living in a place that ranges in temperature from +10 to +45 to Saskatoon which can get as hot as +40 in the summer and as cold as -50 in the winter. Imagine never experience below zero temperatures, and the being thrust into -40 weather every day. Yikes.

I have a co-worker from the Philippines who thought I was joking with her when I said how cold it gets and how much snow we get. She thought I was lying about having to plug your car in, because she’d never heard of it before.

I think she learned pretty quick that I wasn’t trying to prank her.

And, when I have to get off the couch, or away from the computer, and drag myself outside to shovel, I try to think of how good we have it here in Saskatchewan. Hot and dry summers? I can handle those. Rainy spring? I’ll get over it. Snowy, freezing winter? I’ll get over it. Autumn? What is this Autumn you speak of?

Well that doesn’t sound too good, does it? That’s where your wrong.

If you’re smart, you can survive a blizzard. Besides, it’s rare to get any truly life-threatening blizzards. Usually just strong winds and a lot of snow. Stay inside and nothing will happen to you.

Saskatchewan is smack dab in the middle of Canada, close in proximity to none of the three oceans that border Canada, or any large body of water as it is. That crosses the threat of tidal waves, tsunamis and hurricanes off the list of natural disasters that can kill you in Saskatchewan.

There are minor earthquakes, but I’ve never heard of one that damaged any buildings or killed anyone.

Tornadoes that knock down houses, rip apart buildings and destroy towns are about as rare as a two month winter.

And as for volcanoes…well, I’m not even going to comment on that.

Point being, Saskatchewan is a very safe place to live, free from the threat of nearly every major natural disaster that you can think of. Shoveling snow or not, I’ve got it pretty good here.

Thanks for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Growing Up, Just Another Day, Life | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Just Another Day – 9: Enough Is Enough

  1. I share your feelings – we do not have the natural disasters here that threaten all those beautiful vacation spots that boast warm tropical sun and pristine water. In fact, I am actually waiting for the west coast to fall into the ocean in the next major earthquake – then Alberta will have the ocean front property 🙂

    • Yeah, nice for you! It’ll take three or four major earthquakes before Saskatchewan gets any ocean front property…from any direction. 😉

  2. Oh my goodness. That is way too much snow.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

