Ever Tried Writing A Script?

I’ve always been fascinated with movies and television…particularly Sci-Fi, and I have always wanted to write one of my own. Many years ago this idea for a television series came practically full formed in my head. I tried writing it as a novel, but it didn’t excite me.

That’s when I decided to try writing it as I had imagined it…a television series. More like a finite show that I imagined would only have about 20 episodes, but still a show. Like an extended miniseries of sorts. So, I did some research on script writing and, about five or more years ago, I tried my hand at script-writing for the first time. I never did complete the series…I actually only got a few episodes in, but it was still a learning experience for me.

I know the writing here isn’t top class by any means, but I still enjoy the storyline I had started to create, as well as the characters. Here is the first little bit of the first episode:

Legends Of Itherium

001 – The Return

TEASER

FADE IN:

EXT. SPACE – PRISONER TRANSPORT

INT. PRISONER TRANSPORT

CAPTAIN

                                    ETA until arrival at the Prison Planet?

OFFICER 1

                                    Approximately one hour, forty-seven

minutes.

CAPTAIN

                                    All right. I’ll be in my office. Contact me ten

minutes before arrival.

OFFICER 2

                                    Yes, Sir.

CAPTAIN

                                    Commander, you have the bridge.

COMMANDER

                                    Yes, Sir.

The captain nods and leaves the bridge. As he does, the proximity alarm goes off.

OFFICER 2

                                    I’m detecting an incoming ship. It doesn’t

seem to be military or government.

COMMANDER

                                    Call back the captain and identify the vessel.

OFFICER 3

                                    Sir, I think it’s a pirate vessel.

The captain enters the bridge.

CAPTAIN

                                    Pirates? That’s impossible! We wiped them

out at the end of the war, nearly three years

ago. There are no more pirates left.

OFFICER 2

                                    Well, whatever they are, they’re charging

weapons!

CAPTAIN

                                    Raise shields!

EXT. SPACE

The unknown vessel fires at the transport and a red shock goes over the ship.

OFFICER 4

                                    It’s too late. Whatever they hit us with

deactivated our shields and weapons.

CAPTAIN

                                    Fix them! Now!

OFFICER 2

                                    Sir, they’re docking with us!

EXT. SPACE

Shows unknown vessel attaching to the transport through the docking ports.

OFFICER 1

                                    We’re being boarded.

CAPTAIN

                                    Send troops there immediately!

OFFICER 3

                                    The prisoner cell-locks have been somehow

bypassed.

COMMANDER

                                    My God, they’re freeing the prisoners!

CAPTAIN

                                    Abandon ship! Get to the escape pods!

OFFICER 3

                                    The intruders are making their way to the

bridge!

CAPTAIN

                                    Seal the doors! Get security now!

The door suddenly exploded and rough-looking men came pouring in. They started to shoot, and in a few seconds the entire bridge crew was dead.

FADE OUT

BEGINNING THEME

ACT ONE

INT. MILITARY BARRACKS – MORNING

Dylan is looking over Alex.

DYLAN

                                    Wake up.

ALEX

                                    (Drowsily) What’s going on?

DYLAN

                                    The Prospect is being called out to

investigate a possible attack on a prisoner

transport.

ALEX

                                    Someone attacked a prisoner transport?

DYLAN

                                    That’s what I’ve been told.

ALEX

                                    But who did it?

DYLAN

                                    That’s what we’re going to find out.

ALEX

                                    When are we going?

DYLAN

                                    As soon as the crew is up.

ALEX

                                    Why so early?

DYLAN

                                    The president has labelled this as an

emergency. She was very specific when she

said that she wanted a report by this evening.

INT. PARLIAMENT COUNCIL ROOM – MORNING
The members of the council are talking about the prisoner transport.

KERAZAN

                                    We need to find out who did this.

SARAN

                                    It was the pirates.

MIRRIAM

                                    No. I can’t believe that, not yet. We defeated

them three years ago.

SARAN

                                    It is a possibility that they have returned.

MIRRIAM

                                    Their leader was killed.

ELSA

                                    It’s not hard to elect a new one. Besides, as

I remember, there was one pirate vessel that

went unaccounted for.

MIRRIAM

                                    Whatever this is, we cannot tell the public it

was pirates until we are absolutely certain.

KERAZAN

                                    I agree. We do not want to frighten the

people.

SARAN

                                    They have a right to know, especially if their

safety is threatened.

MIRRIAM

                                    One ship cannot possibly threaten an entire

world.

SARAN

                                    No, but it can certainly destroy a fully

equipped transport.

MIRRIAM

                                    Until a further investigation can be made,

we will not assume anything. We will tell

the media that the reasons for the destruction

of the transport are unknown.

ELSA

                                    And how do you expect to conduct your

investigation?

MIRRIAM

                                    A military vessel has already been

dispatched. I’m expecting a report by the

evening.

JANUS

                                    And I think we all expect then that the public

be informed of your findings.

MIRRIAM

                                    I am in charge here, and I decide what the

public will and when they will know it.

SARAN

                                    Why are you doing this?

MIRRIAM

                                    Because I was elected as the president to run

this world to the best of my abilities, and

keep the people safe.

SARAN

                                    And you think by keeping information from

them that they will be safe?

MIRRIAM

                                    Precisely.

KERAZAN

                                    I have to agree with the president on this

matter.

ELSA

                                    I still believe that pirates were responsible,

but, like the High Chancellor and the

President, I believe that, until more

information can be found and until we know

what we’re dealing with here and how to act

on it, we must keep it from the public.

MIRRIAM

                                    You see, some people appreciate what I am

trying to do.

SARAN

                                    Fine. We’ll keep quiet about it, for now.

JANUS

                                    This is corruption!

MIRRIAM

                                    No, it is not. This is deciding what is best for

our world, which us five were chosen to rule.

JANUS

                                    Why even have a council when you make all

the decisions?

MIRRIAM

                                    I didn’t. We acted in a democratic matter.

Everyone had a fair say. I just decided, based

on my knowledge of the situation and the

comments shared today, that the best thing to

do is to keep this incident quiet.

JANUS

                                    This wont last long. Pretty soon, your secrets

                                    are going to get out.

MIRRIAM

                                    And if you are the one to expose them, I’ll

make sure that you live out the rest of your

life on the Prison Planet.

JANUS

                                    You threaten me for betraying this council

of five people, yet you betray the entire

population of billions.

MIRRIAM

                                    Let me ask you: have you betrayed this

council? Have you repeated anything that

was said here?

JANUS

                                    No, and I doubt I ever will.

MIRRIAM

                                    Good. Then there is no reason to fear. I think

that is all. We’ll have another meeting

tomorrow, after the report comes in.

Dismissed.

Have any of you ever attempted script-writing? Even just for fun, it was still neat to work on the script and I think, after I wrote several hundred pages of script over a few episodes, it really helped me with my dialogue for my novels. It made me realize how important dialogue is, and how easy it is to make dialogue sound robotic.

I recommend trying it sometime…just for fun. I had no expectations of actually seeing this as a TV show when I wrote it, but I still wanted to give it a try. I was curious to see if I would actually like script-writing as much as I did writing a novel. While I can’t say I’ve written much more for scripts since then, I do think that I might try it again someday.

Someday, that is, after I get all of my ‘work-in-progress’ novels finished.

Thanks for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Life, Writing | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Ever Tried Writing A Script?

  1. Shauna

    I took a screenwriting class with Gotham Writer’s Workshop. It was a lot of fun and I really liked script writing. Unfortunately I never finished writing the script I started though.

    • Yeah…I never finished either. That’s my biggest writing challenge…finishing a project. lol

      • Shauna

        Yeah, that’s a challenge for a lot of people, myself included. I know during school it was especially hard to find the time to finish things.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

