Remember This Post?

Do you remember this post?

https://allmeanssomething.wordpress.com/2013/01/29/this-is-perhaps-the-dumbest-thing-ive-ever-written/

Well, I actually used to make movies based on this story (that’s where the idea of the story came from), and I used to use this VHS Videorecorder and move my action figures around with my hands and try to change my voice to play each character. Well, when we got our first digital camera, I began work on a stop-action film. I was recently going through my computer when I found all of these images, sound files and video clips in a folder…all pertaining to this “War Of The Moon” movie I was making (probably when I was twelve or thirteen).

I even made outfits for some of the characters and used my sister’s doll house furniture for props.

Anyway, here are some of my favourite stills from that movie (there’s going to be a lot):

IMG_4113

IMG_4587IMG_4588IMG_4589IMG_4591IMG_4594IMG_4595IMG_4596IMG_4597IMG_4598IMG_4601IMG_4603IMG_5881IMG_5882IMG_5883IMG_5884IMG_6014IMG_6027IMG_4869IMG_4870IMG_4871IMG_4872IMG_4176IMG_4190IMG_4173IMG_4174

IMG_5765

I did make a trailer, as well as a couple original recordings for the soundtrack, but I have no idea how to put them on this blog. Oh well…perhaps that can be for another time.

I hope you enjoyed these pictures, as they make me laugh, smile and reflect all at the same time. They bring back so many memories of my childhood, and all of the awesome action  figures and toys I used to play with. I still have all of these toys, by the way. They are nicely stored in boxes in my closet. The Sailor Moon dolls I got when I was maybe five or six years old, the He-Man when I was about ten and the Lord of the Rings when I was around ten and eleven. I have some others that don’t belong to major franchises, and they are all at least ten years old. I used to play with them every day for hours and hours, and it would all be a continuous storyline. Each play session would progress the story, I used to pretend that each time I played was like a movie in a series – which is what, I guess, inspired me to make movies of my own.

And this was why my childhood was so special. With a few relatively cheap toys, I could be occupied for hours and hours. I must’ve ‘logged’ thousands of hours – literally – playing with these toys, so I have a lot of memories associated with them. I just can’t bring myself to throw them away.

Thanks for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Family, Growing Up, Life, Photography, Writing | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Remember This Post?

  1. Pingback: Creativity and Nostalgia « Maggie Madly Writing

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

