The First Poem I Ever Wrote

This is a gem I found from years and years ago. It’s the first poem I ever wrote, and would be the last for many years. I guess I was just too traumatized at how bad this poem is for me to want to write anymore. It took my mother almost demanding that I give poetry a try because I ‘have the mind for it’ – which is how Messages was born.

However, this little chapter from my history book was long before Messages was even a thought in my mind.

I Know What To Do

Life is an adventure that we all face

You got to know what to do every time and every place

Love is a journey, one of a kind

You’ve got to follow you heart instead of your mind

Time is a realm all of its own

It’s brutal, unfair; it’ll hurt you

Love is an experience like no other

You’ll carry and protect it for all that it’s worth

You’ve got to follow your heart wherever it goes

Never give up because you never know

I’ve ridden my horse, I know what to do

I may have fallen off, but I’ll always have you

My struggles are over, my love has begun

And now I know that you are the one

I said my struggles are over, my love has begun

And now I know that you are the one

You’ve got to follow your heart wherever it goes

Never give up because you never know

I’m ridding my horse, I don’t know what to do

I’ve fallen behind, I’m lost without you

Oh, isn’t that just beautiful. All I can say is, I’m sure glad my poetry has improved since then. At least, I hope it has…

Thanks for reading,

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Family, Growing Up, Life, Poetry, Writing | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “The First Poem I Ever Wrote

  1. Thank you for sharing. That brought a smile to my face for many reasons! 😀

  2. To me, poetry is the most difficult form of writing. I admire those who write and share theirs.

    • Thanks, as do I. There’s no need to be ashamed or embarrassed, or even nervous of your poetry, so I encourage everyone to share it.

  3. I’m still new to poetry and so everything I write/post is pretty rough! Poetry is so hard! Thanks for sharing! I’m glad I’m not alone 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

