The Soundtrack Of My Life – 3: Who Has Time For All Of This Music?

Well I don’t know about you, but I am constantly listening to music. All day long, every day. I’m surprised my stereo hasn’t given up on me yet after so many years of all of this hard labour. The thing I find with listening to music constantly is I always need to expand my musical library so that I’m not listening to the same songs over and over and over again.

A lot of the time I like to listen to everything on shuffle, but it I only had a couple hundred songs or even a thousand, it could get awfully redundant awfully soon. So, I’m always listening to new stuff, expand my tastes and adding to my library – while still keeping all my other stuff as well. I just really love music.

I guess that is why I have, by 279 artists and from 928 albums, 7,398 songs. Or, as iTunes tells me, 20 day, 4 hours, 5 minutes and 5 seconds of music. I like having lots because now, even if I listened on shuffle every day, all day long, it would take me a month or longer to hear the same song twice (I don’t listen to my music when I’m sleeping or at school).

Of course, there are many days when I decide to choose what I want to listen to, but it’s nice to have all of the options. Hmm…am I in a Kylie Minogue mood today, or would I prefer some 80s Hairband? Perhaps I want something a little softer…or more Pop-ish? Maybe some soft rock of Hall & Oats or Fleetwood Mac, or some grunge courtesy of Alanis Morissette?

It’s great to have all of the options and choices, and it’s nice to have such a wide ranging library of music to listen to. Of course, a lot of it is skewed towards the Pop side of things (thanks to long-lasting artists like Cher or Barbra Streisand, of which I have 490 and 527 songs, respectively). I feel like there is still a wide range of artists, from ACDC to Willie Nelson, The Eagles to All-Time Low, Bonnie Tyler to Blondie to Boston to Bon Jovi to Bryan Adams, and stuff like Celine Dion to Duran Duran to Katy Perry to Coldplay to Faith Hill to Journey to Five For Fghting, Goo Goo Dolls, Treble Charger, Michael Jackson, Train, Shakira and more. The list goes on and on.

I love having such a diverse range because I have music for every mood I’m in, I have multiple songs for every feeling I’m feeling. Music is such a huge part of my life, and it has been for as long as I can remember. Music can inspire anything from how we live our lives to how we see one another and more. It has often inspired my writing, as I’ve shared before, but it does so much more. Music can express anything and can make you feel anyway. More than this, music can heal.

So, here are three very different songs by three different artists that each express something quite different. Enjoy.

Any other music lovers out there as obsessed with music as I am and have equally impressive (or perhaps more so) music libraries?

Thanks for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: The Soundtrack Of My Life | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “The Soundtrack Of My Life – 3: Who Has Time For All Of This Music?

  1. Woohoo! Glad to see you’re a music fan! Do you play any musical instruments?

    As you’ve probably guessed from my Music Monday. I like electro, but also a bit of pop. I recommend “shuffle” – OMG the songs I found by doing that! 🙂

    • That’s awesome! I love me some electro…not all the time, but it has it’s place on my iPod. My favourite kind of music is pop, but I do like some of the dance stuff (like Kylie Minogue, for example or Skrillex). I like all kinds, though. Not a lot of newer stuff, but there are some good gems that come out every so often. And yes, I play piano – been playing nearly my whole life – and the harmonica, although I haven’t picked up my harmonica in a year or more. I plan to soon…hopefully soon….haha Thanks for the comment!! 🙂 See this is why you should’ve continued with Music Monday…at least once a month. The first Monday of every month could be Music Monday! 😀

  2. Woah, Will. Way to copy my post today…. just kidding! My music library isn’t nearly as impressive as yours. Sadly my time with frostwire managed to crash my computer and I lost all of it! I’m still recovering three years later… don’t do it, haha.

    • Okay, sounds good. I will not! haha And you copied my post! lol Or that’s what I thought when I finished posting this and went to look at my WordPress reader. Someone else I follow wrote about music today, too. I guess great minds think alike! Well in terms of subject…but Jewel and Robbie Williams isn’t exactly Fall-Out Boy 😉

      • Haha, I posted first! 😉

        And I do really like Kylie Minogue and Duran Duran! In the words of my roommate: “Lily, I think you’re the only person under the age of 40 who still listens to Duran Duran.” I’ll show her your post and tell her that this is, in fact, false!

      • Oh! And I’ve seen Celine Dion in concert twice. So there’s that. Recreation of the TItanic on stage and all.

    • Haha Yes! There’s two of us! 🙂 Actually, my cousin listen, too, and we’re the same age. Three of us! haha And Kylie Minogue is one of my favourites. I love her new real dance-y stuff, but I love going back to Can’t Get You Out Of My Head…and then even further to The Loco-Motion and I Should Be So Lucky. haha I was actually thinking about doing a post just about her one of these days….haha I have a sad life, I know 😉

      • Yessss, love Can’t Get You Out Of My Head, I think I still have the entire Fever CD somewhere. If your life is sad, mine is worse. I have Fall Out Boy….

    • Really? Now I hate you…I wish I could see Celine in concert. I used to be obsessed with her when I was a kid, until I got into my ‘grunge’ phase of Alanis Morissette, Garbage and Breaking Benjamin…I still love her, though, and am now jealous of you.

      • Haha your grunge phase was that, mine was the Panic! At the Disco, Fall Out Boy stage. Doesn’t she still have a Vegas show or something? I just got really lucky because one of my friends at the time had a really rich stepdad who had really amazing tickets for the opening night of the Pepsi Center in Denver, so it was really more of a chance encounter, but I’m grateful all the same!

    • Yeah…she’s in Vegas right now, selling tickets for like $300 and still selling out every night. I read somewhere that she’s the most profitable Vegas act since Elvis lol Must be nice… 😉

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

