The Bookends Of My Life – 7: The Only Time I’ll Ever Tell Anyone To Get Back In The Closet

There’s no double entendre in this title, it is what it is. It makes perfect sense if you know what book I’m about to talk about – book series, rather. Any guesses?

BE5 - R2Obviously I’m talking about The Chronicles Of Narnia by C. S. Lewis, one of the most beloved children’s story of all time, as well as one of my personal favourite book series.

Like everyone else, my favourite book in the series is the second one, The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, although I do enjoy the others as well. I feel like these books are like fairy tales in novel forms, and what children don’t like fairy tales?

The first time I’d heard of these books was when I was maybe in Grade 1 or 2. My brother, two years older than me, was all excited about this book – The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe – because his class was reading it for a book report. Once they finished the book report, they put together a play – in which my brother played Mr. Beaver – I can’t remember if he had any other name or not. While I don’t remember seeing the play at all, I do remember my brother’s excitement over the book – and his new-found love of Turkish Delight, which his whole class got treated to when they finished the performance of the play.

That actually got me excited and so I decided to read The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe. I loved it. The magical world of Narnia in which the four children are thrust into, the talking beasts, the faun and my personal favourite character, the White Witch. It’s a masterpiece of well crafted story-telling and C. S. Lewis sure knew how to get the minds of young children working.

After reading The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe I went around checking at the back of every closet in the house, hoping one of them would take me to Narnia. I had no such luck. Even know I’m fascinated by the story, and I can appreciate even more the intricacies of such a simple seeming tale.

Needless to say, you can imagine my excitement when my brother told me that it was a series of seven books. Man, was I excited.

So, if you haven’t read any of The Chronicles Of Narnia perhaps you should. It really is a story for anyone, and part of the magic of reading it is having your imagination go to work, painting your own version of Narnia in your head.

I have a lot of memories connected with Narnia and it definitely means a lot to me. Looking back now, I know for a fact that my childhood would not have been the same without these books.

What do you guys think? Are you Narnia fans as well?

Thanks for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Bookends Of My Life, Family, Growing Up, Life, Writing | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “The Bookends Of My Life – 7: The Only Time I’ll Ever Tell Anyone To Get Back In The Closet

  1. I haven’t actually read the books!
    I saw the movie a long time ago (a family member was involved in making it) but haven’t read it… perhaps I should find it in the library. Along with all those others I’ve been meaning to find…

  2. YESSS. Probably one of my all time favorites. Although, what’s weird is that my favorite book in the series is The Horse and His Boy which literally has nothing (well, okay not literally, but sort of) nothing to do with the rest of the books. Like if you had to take one out and have it all still make sense, it would be that one. Yet it’s still the best. Also, I still walk around hoping wardrobes will take me to Narnia…

    • This is too weird because that is a definite close second favourite for me. I feel like every underrates it because it is so distant from anything Narnia, but I loved it. I’ve talked to lots of people who feel like the series could do without it…but I disagree. I’m glad someone else out there loves the Horse and His Boy and can appreciate it for what it is – a really great story!

  3. I am always checking closets for entrances to magical worlds!! 🙂

  4. My dad used to light incense and read the books aloud to me when I was a kid. I love them. The Magician’s Nephew is my favorite one. I’d like to read it again, and I very rarely re-read books.

    • They are good indeed. The first three in the series (chronologically) definitely hit the mark and are more than worth the re-read. The others are great, too, but if you don’t read them twice that’s okay. But put those first three on your re-read list for sure! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

