A New Poem

I haven’t written any new poetry in what feels like forever. I’ve been so engrossed with going through old poems so that I could compile, edit, organize and produce Messages (which is currently selling for only $0.99 right now right here). Now that I’ve got Messages completed, I feel like I can begin a ‘new chapter’ with my poetry, and so I wrote a new poem this evening for the first time in probably 5-6 weeks. It’s not very good, mind, but it does make me smile.

One Thing

I wake up in the morning

And I’ve got water for my shower

I’ve got clothes enough for me

Of my life I have power

My fridge always has food

And then some excess

Grand piano for a grand mood

And I’ll never have anything less

But these are not the things that matter

They really don’t help me reach my bliss

There’s only one thing in this life that I love

And I have never wanted anything more than this

I have money enough for more than me

And the greatest friends

A loving, supporting family

And good times that never end

I have a car so I need not walk

I’ve got a great dog and a loving cat

Someone is there when I need to talk

And I’m happy with myself

But these things cannot compare

They don’t deliver focus-ness

Because there’s only one thing in this life that I love

And I have never wanted anything more than this

I have all that I could ever need

And all most people would want

But there is a hunger I still must feed

Because without this, life is dull and blunt

And nothing else really matters

I hold nothing as important as this

Nothing means as much to me

My whole life I have wanted it

It is the only one thing in this life that I love

And I have never wanted anything more than this

What did you think? It’s not great, I know…but it’s not horrible, is it?

Thanks for reading!

Don’t forget that tomorrow, February 6th, I will be featuring my first guest-blog post. I look forward to that. This is not the only thing that is exciting about tomorrow, however, for I will be a guest-blogger on The Life Of A Thinker. Be sure to head over there tomorrow and check out my post. Please.

Every Wednesday, from now until I run out of writers, my blog will be featuring guest-blogging posts from fellow bloggers and writers. If you’re interested in writing a post for my blog, shoot me an email at allmeanssomething@gmail.com

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Life, Poetry, Writing | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A New Poem

  1. I really like this. It means something different to us all, yes? I wish I could write something like that in one night. Thanks for sharing, and this made me smile too.

    • Thank you for the kind comment. 🙂 Yes, I do believe that it does have a different meaning for everyone. It’s really trying to say that after all of one’s ‘needs’ (family, friends, God, etc. as examples), there is usually one thing (physical or not) that every person wants from life. I wrote this while thinking about my writing and becoming a true published author, and walking into a bookstore to see my book on a shelf. But this is my interpretation, and you most likely thought of something else. This is one of the reason’s I love poetry so much…it is rare to find a ‘bad’ poem (unless it’s grammatically bad or something) because poetry means something different to every reader, and it’s a personal experience writing poetry but it’s also a personal experience reading it. Thanks for stopping by, reading and commenting. Oh yeah, and thanks for all the kind words, support and encouragement. It means a lot to me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

