My Most Dedicated Reading

I think that it’s important for every writer to have a ‘dedicated reading’. That is, certain people that will always come back to read your writing, and hopefully provide some invaluable feedback to help the writer grow. Now, I am not published – although I hope to be someday soon – so, naturally, my ‘dedicated reading’ are people who I know personally.

The trouble with this is when my friends want to read my writing, I’m always skeptical of their feedback and compliments. Are they just telling me it’s good because I’m their friend? I would hope that they were telling the honest truth, but sometimes you just never know. Besides, we writers are so self-critical that it would be a natural reaction to assume they’re only lying to me because they want to encourage a friend.

While I have my doubts about some of this, there are a couple of people in my life who will not only read anything I put in front of them but also provide lengthy, in depth and useful feedback that I know is an uninfluenced decision. They are happy to tell me when my writing is good or great, but they also don’t hold back in the slightest if they feel there is something I need to work on. These two people have definitely helped me grow as a writer and have fueled and encouraged my determination to get published.

When they tell me a story is not very good, an idea is really lame or certain aspects of the novel need some work, it really makes me try that much harder to create something that is really worth reading. I’m very blessed to have two such people who avidly read nearly everything I write and their criticism means everything to me. I didn’t even have to look very far to find these honest, caring and inspiring people.

You see, my most dedicated reading is my parents, and I’d like to tell you a little bit about them.

Born in 1966, my dad was raised here in Saskatoon – not far from where we live now. His mother, my grandmother, still lives there today (she’ll be celebrating her 80th birthday this coming fall). His father is no longer with us, having passed away in 2006. My dad enjoys music (he used to play a lot, but now he mostly listens), reading (including anything that I’ve written and put in front of him) and watching NASCAR racing, as well as football (the Saskatchewan Roughriders is his favourite team, naturally).

003He works as a Service Manager for a local alarm system company.

My mother was born in 1970, the youngest of eight children. The walls of our house feature a lot of her beautiful cross-stitching, a hobby she’s had for as long as I can remember.

001Our house is also never short of rooster-anythings, as she has a slight obsession with them (like me with Superman).

002She works at the Saskatoon Library, as a supervisor for one of the departments, but she’s only been working there for about ten years. My siblings and I were very fortunate to be able to have her stay at home with us when we were kids. My dad worked two – sometimes three – jobs to make this possible. They are two very special, hard-working and devoted people.

My parents actually met when my mother was still in high school. His brother was going to the same school at the same time as my mom, and one of her friends was actually dating my father – obviously, they broke up.

While it was not entirely as fairy tale-ish as it sounds, my parents dated for a few years, fell in love and then got married. Most people that knew my parents (family included) didn’t think their marriage would last because they got married so young – my father was 21 and my mother was 17. I guess they proved all the doubters wrong.

During the first five years of their marriage, my parents had four children. I am the youngest in the family – so it really gave my parents a shock when they realized that their ‘baby’ turned 20 last month. Not to mention that my sister will be 25 this year. It’s actually funny because I am the youngest in our family and I have friends, the same age as me, who are the oldest in their families and their parents are all about 10 years older than mine.

Would I ever get married this young? Well, my mom already has me beat by three years, but I don’t think I could do it. Marriage isn’t even on my mind. It is nice, though, to know that I will have that much more time in my life to spend with my parents because I’m 20 now and they’re only 46 and 42, respectively. And in all honesty, my parents are two of my best friends.

So anyway, I actually wrote this post last November but I was waiting until today to post it. What is so special about today? Well, there’s A LOT special about today. You see my parents got married on January 30th, 1988. That makes today their 25th Anniversary.

That’s a pretty incredible achievement I think, especially in a time when divorce rates are at 50%. I’m lucky to have my parents as my parents, and they helped make me who I am today.

This post is dedicated to them and the amazing 25 Years they’ve shared together. Here’s to many more.

I just realized that it’s possible for my parents to celebrate a 75th Anniversary. They only need to live to the ages of 96 and 92. I guess there’s something to be said for marrying young…

Thanks for reading! I’m off now to spend the evening with family.

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Family, Growing Up, Just Another Day, Life, Writing | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “My Most Dedicated Reading

  1. Loved this post! I am also good friends with my parents, and my dad plays music, too! I grew up listening to the sound of the bass guitar mostly, but also a little acoustic guitar. That’s a great accomplishment, staying married this long! I wish them all the best 🙂

    • That’s awesome. My dad played electric guitar, saxophone and piano. I’ve mostly just heard him play piano. He is insanely talented – having taken lessons to the highest level. He gave me lessons when I was younger, but nowadays I just play for pleasure every once in a while. 🙂

  2. Created ~ Create.it

    This is a really good idea and I realize that I do need a dedicated reading..

    • I think it’s important. It’s nice to get compliments on your writing, but it’s also good to have people tell you the truth. My parents have told me if they really like something, but they’ve also told me “This is crap. You can write much better than this.” It’s actually surprising how much this can motivate you. Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

