Coming Soon: Messages – A Collection Of Poems

Some of you may have noticed (while others may not have, or just didn’t care) that most of the poems I’ve posted on my blog are now taken down. This is because I have begun work on a poetry book and some of the poems I’ve posted will find a home in that book.

I came to the decision to compile a poetry collection when I was looking for a poem to post and I realized that I had hundreds of poems to choose from…so I just said to myself: “Why don’t I do something a little more useful with these poems and try creating a book?”

So far, I’ve really been enjoying the process. It’s made me want to go back and read through pages and pages of poetry that would have otherwise just remained either tucked away in a desk drawer, or hidden in some obscure Microsoft Word file in some unknown folder within the mess that is my writing file on my computer.

The only challenge has been trying to decide which poems to keep, which to use for the book and how to organize them inside. Hopefully when I’m done I’ll have close to 100 poems for my book. That will give me a decent-sized book that would be worth spending money on.

That being said, I’ve also changed the header photo of my blog once again because I’m going to use the maple leaf photo for my poetry collection. Here’s a preview of the cover:

previewWhat do you think?

Thanks for reading?

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Life, Poetry, Writing | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Coming Soon: Messages – A Collection Of Poems

  1. Congratulations.

  2. Reblogged this on GoodPoetry and commented:
    Looking forward to reading more GoodPoetry from William Louison!

    • Wow! Thanks! 🙂 This really means a lot to me. I haven’t been writing poetry very long…but it’s really meant a lot for me! I didn’t think I’d like it, but it was actually my mother who urged me to give it a try! I’m sure glad I did.

  3. Perfect cover for a book of poems! Reminds me of Walt Whitman.

  4. I think it’s very nice! Love the color. How exciting!

    • Well I had all of these poems lying around – like a LOT – and I figured they were doing me no good so I might as well try out creating a book. Just a non-important, past-time endeavour….only kidding. I’m quite excited and I’m curious to see how well self-publishing a book of poetry goes. My novel Perspective has been selling for a year now and it hasn’t been successful in any sense, but it has sold a few copies here and there and made me some extra money, which has been really cool. Now I’m curious to see what the poetry market is like…I’ve tried a few poetry contests (the free ones) but no luck so far. So I’m just dipping my toes in to see how things pan out. I do, too, love the picture (although I had to use a little photo-shop to enhance some of the colours). Thanks for sharing your excitement, and increasing mine! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

