The Little Things

I really love this song. I think it’s got a great message to it. How can you not agree with these lines:

“It’s the little things

That mean a lot.

It’s what you are

Not what you got.”

Besides that I think the performance is pretty adorable as well. Even though it’s only a year younger than my father…

Anyways, whenever I hear this song I tend to mull over the phrase “the little things” for just a minute or two, and I come to realize that it really is the little things that mean a lot. Not just the little things we see in other people, but the little things that happen in everyday life that can really just brighten up your day and turn your frown upside down! 😉

I’m posting this song for a reason, and that would be to share with you my little list of little things that make each day just a little bit more special than a regular day. They also remind me just how fortunate I am, and that makes me want to complain a little less (but not stop entirely, because my daily life is practically based around complaining).

The Little Things:

-Waking up in the morning still under the covers

-When you work in a restaurant and someone tells you “Thanks for the great service”

-Falling asleep with your adorable cat right beside you

IMG_1260

-Opening a hardcover book with gold edged pages and hearing the paper crack apart for the first and only time

-The first sip from a cup of ice-cold water when you first get home from work

-The first sip of coffee in the morning when you’ve had far less sleep than required

Superman mug

-The taste of hot, homemade chocolate pudding

-Inhaling cold, crisp winter air on a snowy day

001

-The smell of cut grass

-Cookies and milk

-When everyone in the comic store knows your name and file # and just hands you your stack of comics without having to ask you

-Getting a text from my sister (who lives a 12 hour drive away) every couple days that usually says: “Hey you fat cow” or “Hey poop face”.

-When my brother (who lives a 6 hour drive away) texts me a funny picture of his cat or dog

-Knowing all of the lines when I watch Star Wars

-Getting an e-mail that says I have a new comment on my blog

-Flipping my many calendars over to the next month (even though some of them have been hanging on my wall for 6 years, it’s still nice to get a change of view)

IMG_1420IMG_1421IMG_1422IMG_1423IMG_1419

-Reading the first line of your favourite book

Of course there are many more “little things”, an infinite number actually, that can really get passed by when you’re worried about getting that assignment done on time, passing that test tomorrow, having patience with an angry customer and so on, but every once in a while it’s nice to just stop and think about these little things, for it really is the little things “that mean a lot” and make life worth living.

So now, what are the little things that make you smile throughout the day?

Thanks for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Family, Growing Up, Life, The Soundtrack Of My Life, Writing | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “The Little Things

  1. Smiling at someone and getting a smile back. That can definitely make my whole day.

    • True that. I figured this one was a given for just about anyone (unless you’re a crusty hermit who hates humanity and every person on the planet) so I decided not to include it because it’s pretty obvious lol But then again, lots of people forget just how much impact a smile can have. 🙂

  2. LOVE the calendars.

    • Thanks! Since like 2007 I’ve been getting both a Star Wars and Star Trek calendar for the following year. It’s kind of like the one thing I expect to get at Christmas, and my parents have not disappointed. They are just too cool to take down after one year…so I leave up as many as can fit on my walls haha

  3. “Chancho, when you are a man, sometimes you wear stretchy pants…”

    “Whaaat?”

    “SQUIRREL!”

    “Now you must wear the cone of shame.”
    “I do not like the cone of shame.”

    These ALWAYS bring a smile to my face. 🙂 Invariably, when things get tense in our house, someone tosses out a funny movie line to lighten things up.

    Seriously, though, talking with my kids, laughing with my kids, just being with my husband and my kids, knowing EVERYONE is home…those things make me smile. Good post. 🙂

    • “Chancho, when you are a man, sometimes you wear stretchy pants…” That is one of my all time favourite movie lines, ever! hahaha My sister and I always say funny movie lines to each other. This one is indeed one of our favourites to say.
      Thanks for the comment!

  4. Shauna

    lol, that’s a lot of calendars!

    I printed out a saying a little while ago that always makes me feel better: “Do something today that your future self will thank you for.” Whenever I’m feeling kind of down or like I’m not doing enough, looking up and seeing that really helps put things in perspective. Sure, I might not be doing lots right now. But if I can even start on something, or do something I haven’t wanted to do but know I need to, I know my future self will be happy that I did that.

    I’ve also printed out something someone said to me about my writing. I was working on a project for this person and didn’t get a lot of feedback. I don’t remember what I emailed him about, but in his response, he gave me some compliments. Whenever I’m sitting at my desk I can look up and see his encouragement, which makes my writing feel that much more worthwhile.

    Besides that, there are tons of other little things that are just awesome. Waking up to find my cat beside me (she’s not super social so it doesn’t happen very often!) Finding an awesome picture online (be it a photo or art, a sunset, flowers, Lego, whatever). Driving anywhere when the sun is shining. Sitting by the fire when its cold out. Being on a boat in the summer. Reading a good book. All of these and more. 🙂

    • These are all totally awesome! 🙂 I always fall asleep beside my cat but she’s never there when I wake up. I hope this isn’t foreshadowing any kind of future love life for me….haha I’m not big on encouraging sayings, but anything that reminds me of my siblings will make me happy. On my desk I’ve got a pen from my sister she got for me in Montreal sitting in a surfboard pen-holder she bought in Brazil, so there’s always a reminder there. And I have an awesome picture of some of my closest friends. My one friend got it for a birthday present and framed it for me. The white cardboard thing around the photo but inside the frame (know what I’m talking about) is covered in little drawings and sayings (like a Superman sign and many, many inside jokes) and that’s really awesome to look at every once in a while. Thanks for commenting! Hope 2013 is treating you well.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

