The 100th Post

On Monday, October 15th, 2012, I wrote my very first blog post, Everyone Remembers Their First, and here we all are 10 weeks, 70 days, 216 shares, 4 blog awards, 651 comments, 193 WordPress followers and 4,840 views later and I’m writing my 100th post. That’s right, count ’em 1, 2, 3…100. They’re all here. What an incredible ride it’s been, and I really have all of you to thank.

I started out my blog with a rather negative attitude, thinking that no one was going to care what I had to say or would want to read any of my writing – but all of my wonderful readers proved me wrong. The feedback and support I get all the time is just incredible. To think I’ve gotten 193 followers for my blog boggles my mind. I truly just get so excited that I start smiling. Apart from this, I created a Twitter specifically as a means to promote my blog and my writing and I’ve gotten 400 Twitter followers already and made some very good friends in such a short amount of time. It made me learn that you can’t discount anything until you give it a try.

I honestly believe that my blog has – I wouldn’t say ‘changed’ – but it’s definitely affected my life in a very positive way. I feel much more confident in my writing and invigorated to get out there and reach for my dreams. I want to send out a big thank you to ALL of my readers, especially those that comment regularly, brightening my day and reassuring me that what I’ve posted hasn’t been totally bat-crap crazy.

Here’s to new friends!

In writing this post, I’ve found that I’ve been very retrospective and I keep going back to older posts and it’s really interesting, to me, to re-watch my blog unfold from a much more positive perspective. It really has been a blessing, and I don’t think I’m being too vain when I say I’m proud of myself, I’m proud of my blog and I’m proud of the fact I’ve been able to entertain a lot of different people during the last 70 days.

Before we go any further, if you’re at all curious about why I titled my blog What If It All Means Something, you can read all about it in my post The Song. It’s a good one, I promise.

My blog is primarily about writing, but for those of you who’ve been following carefully, you will have noticed that I’ve been sharing bits and pieces of my life with you this whole time, adding to a greater picture that is the magnificent me! 😉 I was originally planning to focus entirely on my writing, but I found sharing little stories here and there and posting about different parts of my life can really been fun, too.

It all started with What If It All Means Nothing, where I first introduced myself to you. It was kind of weird for me to write a brief autobiography, but a part of me really enjoyed it. That’s sort of when I decided that I didn’t NEED to post a story or poem EVERY day and it would be an intriguing prospect to one day share some writing and the next a little more about me.

It’s been a challenge at times to find the right things to post about, making sure that it all falls under the theme of ‘the life of a writer’, but it’s been a whole lot fun, too. Finding ways to connect my personal stories about family, school, or whatever else catches my fancy to my writing made me look at my life in a very different way. It also led to some really cool posts that say more about me than I ever could have expressed to you without normally getting a little nervous or over thinking it all.

I introduced you to my crazy parents with Advice From Mommy & Daddy and I showed you how we like to do Christmas baking in The Art Of Making Christmas Cookies. I managed to baffle some people with details and numbers related to my computer’s ‘Stories’ folder in The Archives – What A Mess, and in The Collector Part 1: My Life With Superman I confessed my undying, life-long love for the Man of Steel. Sometimes I find the easiest way to express myself, though, is through simply posting a poem, like Unabridged and many others. Oh yeah, remember my bookshelf that wowed so many of you? If you don’t, you’ll find all you need to know, including several pictures, in What’s On Your Bookshelf? – the post that is by far my blog’s most popular.

I have to tell you, I almost enjoy the personal posts more, because it feels like I’m really making a connection. I’m just a robot at the opposite end of an unseen screen. I am a person too and, world between us or not, we can still build a relationship. The friends – ‘Blog Buddies’ I like to call them – I’ve made are really quite unique and I’m very excited to have been sucked into reading so many other blogs; my life is truly richer for it. I feel that being able to connect with so many other writers and being able to read their writing and their approach to writing has definitely improved my own writing ability.

I’ve also had the pleasure of receiving these great awards from fellow bloggers, which could quite possibly by my biggest claim to fame yet.

(This last one I’ve actually gotten twice). 🙂

Well I think I’ve advertised my blog enough for one post. I definitely inserted enough links to older posts to keep some of you busy for a while and ensure me a mild increase in hits! Not that I’m not satisfied with 4840 hits, but I’m a greedy person and I always want more.

Besides, I could use the extra hits to make up for over Christmas. You see, this will be my last post. Ever.

Just kidding. It’s just my last post before Christmas, as I’m going to take a couple days off to relax, be with family, celebrate Christmas and soak up the….snow. I’ll be back in four or five days, so don’t cry too hard. There is a light at the end of the tunnel. At the center of the light is my glorious face, much like that creepy baby from the Teletubbies.

Anyways, I really can’t express enough how grateful I am to all of you for making my blog what it is today and for providing encouragement when I needed it most. I’m really glad I pushed through that first week where my blog only got three to five hits a day, and I truly am blessed to be where I am right now.

With that being said, I wish all of you a Merry Christmas and a safe and joyous holiday season. I’ll see you in a few days!

We’ve had a great 100 posts together, sharing some moments I will cherish forever. Here’s to 100 more!

Thanks for everything,

-Will

Categories: Family, Growing Up, Life, Poetry, Writing | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “The 100th Post

  1. Congratulations on the milestone! What an achievement! 🙂

  2. stillstrange

    Congrats on making it to 100. Sorry, I barely remember my 1st blog post. As I keep posting, I grow older and my memory fades. I believe I started posting after my mother died for an outlet. I like your personal stories and getting to know you better that way through your blogs. Congrats on all the awards as well as Nanowrimo also.

    • Thank you so much! 🙂 Merry Christmas to you and your family and best of luck with all your future endeavours – blogging and/or otherwise.

  3. I like what you said…”I’m very excited to have been sucked into reading so many other blogs; my life is truly richer for it.”
    Great post!

    • It’s true, though. Sometimes I don’t have the time to read through all the new posts in a day from all the blogs I’m following, and I keep following more. It’s really not fair to me or other bloggers because I can’t possibly make time for EVERYONE 😦 You’re welcome for the privilege to read my blog….rather, thank you for commenting and thank you for reading and it’s really MY privilege that you are here! Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays & Happy New Year!

  4. Congrats to your 100th post! You have a great blog here. I don’t get to read it everyday but I swing by whenever I can and I always love your posts. 🙂

    • Thanks so much! Yeah, sometimes reading a blog EVERYDAY is just too much time to spend…especially if you follow many, many blogs as I do. It’s still nice to have you when you do pop in! 🙂 Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

