The Dawn Of A New Era (Because I Really Couldn’t Come Up With A Content-Appropriate Title)

Do you feel any different today? Do you feel like you’ve moved on to a new era of spirituality and existence? Perhaps the paradigm of your life has shifted, your worldview been turned upside down and the idioms that once shaped your daily thoughts and actions seem so immature and futile?

No? Okay, good. I don’t feel any different either. That would mean that the theory of a new consciousness on December 21, 2012 is just a bunch of hokum – as silly as the theory of the apocalypse.

Besides, if I was driving home from work today and heard on the radio that a massive asteroid was heading straight for our small world and we were all doomed, I’d still be happy if I came home and was greeted by this:

IMG_1307Isn’t he just as adorable as a teddy bear? Word of caution, though: he sure as hell doesn’t smell like your average teddy bear.

So, it was my birthday on the 19th. My girlfriend took me out for supper tonight and to see The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, which was amazingly spectacular I might add. Extremely well done, with top acting and ridiculously good effects, graphics, costumes, scenery and music. Top notch film and I highly recommend it. It is long, clocking in at just shy of three hours, but it didn’t feel anything close to that because it was SO GOOD. Just thought I’d let you all know.

She didn’t take me out on my birthday because I was having a delicious supper – prepared by my awesome mother – and then I spent the evening enjoying this cake (also made by my mom):

IMG_1337I still don’t know what kind of pattern my mom tried to make with the candles, and they seem a little too triangular to have just been placed randomly. Regardless of the pattern, it was delicious and much appreciated, as were my presents, which included money from my Grandma, several Star Wars books from my sister, and two Star Wars writing journals, an Xbox Live card and a really cool tie from my parents.

IMG_1342My brother is coming home tomorrow (he lives out of town and province), and my other brother said he was stopping by on the weekend, so maybe they’ll both have something sweet for me, too. I mean, it would be really wonderful to see my brothers again, regardless if they come bearing presents or not.

I’m not sure if I can add anything else to this post that is more a random string of thoughts. They are my thoughts, however, and seeing that this is my blog I feel I get to decide to post whatever I want to, and not be forced to concern myself with anything else. I’m not the one reading my posts, after all. That’s your job. Do you like what you see? 😉

Thanks for reading!

Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays & Happy New Year,

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Family, Life, Writing | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Dawn Of A New Era (Because I Really Couldn’t Come Up With A Content-Appropriate Title)

  1. Very nice tie. 😉 So, you liked The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey? I’ve heard mixed reviews some are freaked out that it’s not entirely faithful to the book and hate it, others like yourself, think it’s awesome. I loved the book but even if they did change around things a bit in the script, I still think the movie looks neat enough to go see.

    • They are actually extremely faithful to the book. Nearly every part of the movie that was in the book was very similar, if not exact, to the book. It’s not like Lord of the Rings where they left things out. This time, they added stuff in. I’ve only read the Hobbit and Lord of the Rings, but Tolkien wrote several other works (and had many notes later published by his son). These were the Silmarillion, the History of Middle Earth 12 part series, etc. It is my understanding that these books deal with certain background info to the Lord of the Rings that is not in the Hobbit book (but also not essential to the plot). A lot of this background info, then, is taken from various sources, novels and notes of Tolkien and added into the movie. I actually felt like it was almost better than the novel, because it goes into so much detail and background that the Hobbit was lacking. I’m not giving any specifics because they will probably be spoilers. I would suggest that you watch it at some point because it was exceptionally good. Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

