The Bookends Of My Life – Part 2

If you noticed the ‘Part 2’ at the top and cared to read ‘Part 1’, you can find it here: The Bookends Of My Life – Part 1. I explain the reason behind this series of posts in the first one, naturally. Other than that, I am just about ready to dive right in to Part 2.

I you have been an avid follower of my blog, you will know all about my undying, unconditional and unrestrained love of Star Wars. If you don’t, perhaps you should look at this post: The Collector – Part 2. If you like Star Wars, you may also be interested in my post Star Wars Anyone?. If you really like Star Wars you can search my blog (top right), or you can click this link where I’ve done the brunt of the work for you and all of the wonderful posts that mention Star Wars will reveal themselves to you. Of course, if you don’t live your life worshiping Lucas, captivated by comic books, addicted to the best television shows of our time or filling your living space with many collectibles and much memorabilia – more simply put: if you are a nerd – you probably don’t care that much about Star Wars. If this is the case for you than you especially should follow the links above as the content of my blog posts will enrich your lives, satisfy your senses and entertain your imagination.

I am talking about Star Wars because many of my favourite novels happen to be Star Wars, like these ones:

BE2 - R1

These three novels, known as the Thrawn Trilogy were – apart of a few smaller novellas at the time of the original movies – the first full-length novels ever published about the Star Wars galaxy. They are simply the three greatest Star Wars novels ever written and they introduced me to the world of Star Wars novels.

I was quite young when I first read these books and I still remember the excitement I felt from the first page of Heir to the Empire to the last page of The Last Command. Timothy Zahn is a brilliant author and these novels come together wonderfully. They take place five years after Return of the Jedi and I feel that if George Lucas got his act together twenty years ago, he could have made these books into movies the moment they were published and those movies would have been just as good as the original Star Wars trilogy. I fear that I will never see this dream to fulfillment, however, which is indeed a crying shame.

What is special to me about these novels is I did not introduce myself to them. I’ve been a fan of Star Wars forever, but it was actually my Dad who told me I should read these books. They were published around the time I was born and my Dad had first bought and read them back then. I was probably nine or ten when he finally pulled them out of the storage room and told me that I should read them. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I knew I was definitely eager to get started. I commenced my reading of this epic trilogy within minutes of receiving them from my father and I finished Book Three four or five days later. Other than Lord of the Rings, I’ve never read a book or book series with so much fervor in my entire life – to this day. It’s one of my favourite moments from my childhood, because I can remember how incredibly ecstatic I was to be reading such wonderfully crafted stories that had the same magical qualities of the original Star Wars movies. They remain the best Star Wars novels out there. I owe this entire experience to my father.

I’m going to switch directions and talk about a novel that is not Science-Fiction or Fantasy, but has really influenced me as a reader, a writer and a person. This is one of my all-time favourite novels (you’ll come to realize that out of the hundreds, if not thousands, of books I’ve read in my life I have many ‘all-time favourites’). I can’t think of anything else to say to introduce it, so I’ll just show the beautiful, hardcover copy that I bought as a present for my Mom because this is her favourite book. I’m a little jealous that I gave it to her and didn’t keep it for myself!

BE2 - R2

This is the wonderful classic To Kill A Mockingbird. I first read this when I was sixteen. It was the summer between Grade 10 and 11 and I read it just days before school started because my mother was urging me to do so. Unlike the Star Wars books suggested by my father, I really didn’t want to read this book. In my own words I must have called it “crap” and “a waste of time”. Man, was I proven wrong. This is such a beautifully written novel about growing up and the trepidations children face as they make their way from innocence to the bitter reality of life. It touched me in so many ways and on so many levels, and I never discounted a book again without having read at least some of it, or having done a lot of research into reviews about it. More than this, it really changed the way I thought about my own past and childhood and it made me realize just how lucky and blessed I had been in my own life. I am so thankful for having read this novel and it will remain, forevermore, a cherished addition to the bookshelf of my life.

I have one more novel to share with you. Like last post, this is a novel that I would like to read sometime in the – hopefully near – future.

BE2 - U1It is called The Crystal Cave by Mary Stewart and is the first in a series of four novels, all of which come highly recommended by my parents. From my understanding, it is a very engaging interpretation of the King Arthur story. It’s been on my shelf for many, many years but I have just not gotten around to reading it yet. I hope that changes.

That being said, I’m all finished. Only for now, of course.

Feel free to comment on any of the books featured in this post, or share with me your favourite novels. If you have any recommended books to read, please let me know. An avid, voracious reader such as myself can never had too many books to read.

Also, Perspective, a novel I wrote and published through Create Space and Amazon, is available for FREE on kindle the rest of today and tomorrow. Please check it out here!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Bookends Of My Life, Life, Writing | Tags: , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “The Bookends Of My Life – Part 2

  1. I tried to access your other post, On Forgeries…, but it was gone. Sorry that happened to you…I wonder if it has happened to me! The thief’s blog didn’t give any personal info about themselves. How did you find it?

    • I took it off because once I posted and actually linked back to their blog, they added me as the author and cited my blog. I’m not sure what I should do though because I googled every post on that blog and they were all copied from other blogs, so I went to all those blogs and commented with a link back to this other persons blog. I found it because I was looking into getting views from search terms and and I saw that someone was referred to my blog when they searched something about Christmas cookies. So I was curious on how I could increase view by people searching on google so I’ve been searching some of what other people have been searching to see what comes up. When I searched this term, I was looking through the images and I found my funny-looking, anatomically correct gingerbread man (the one without the arms) and I started laughing. Until I noticed the link for the pic wasn’t back to my blog. I followed it and sure enough I found that blog and they actually copied everything and just cut out my “Till Next, -Will”. I posted on their blog but it was never approved, so I went to all the people who commented on their post and posted on their blogs what had happened. Then I started googling all these other posts of their’s and found they were copies and posted on the original blogs with a link back. I also went to he forums and word press because I was so upset. Oh yeah, and I sent a VEHEMENT email to the blogger. They only responded when I posted my post though, and I was happy to see they added my name and link to my blog, even though I wish it was gone from their site. I can’t cause a fuss though if they’re actually citing me. It just made me SO mad because I saw people commenting and liking this post and enjoyin MY POST that someone stole from my blog. I took my post down after they cited me because I got some negative comments saying I overreacted and well, my side of things was all cleaned up. I’m not sure how to proceed, though, and I think I’ve done all I can. Once I was cited and I let all the other authors know who’s been copied, I figured that was all I could do. What do you think?

      • Yeah, that’s frustrating! You did what you could to help others unknowingly caught up in it. That’s more than a lot of people would do…it’s unfortunate WordPress can’t do something more punitive to discourage fraudulent bloggers like that. It’s pretty obvious that they were stealing. I think the fact that there is no ‘face’ to that blog is quite suspicious/telling in and of itself. you know that where there is one of these blogs, there must be a thousand. What do you think is their ultimate motivation for doing it, though? Do you know their origination?

        • I think it is one of two options. The less likely option is they wanted to have a successful blog without doing the work so they were just stealing posts they liked from other blogs. However, at the header of every page was a link to a seller account on Amazon selling clothing so I think they were trying to get more interest and advertising for their clothing and they thought if they had a successful blog they would be able to get more interest and buyers for their clothing. This is just my speculation because why else would there be a link at the top of every page, right in front of your post, to their clothing. I know this is happening so much with so many other bloggers, and my blog has probably been copied and plagiarized before. Maybe yours, too. It was just so aggravating discovering this blog. They took a bog about CHRISTMAS of all things – which I thought was a really inventive set of Christmas cookie photos – and tried to pass it off as theirs. They e-mailed me back with nothing more than: “sorry for my mistake, I just really liked your post and wanted to share it”. Excuse me, your MISTAKE? hahaha not impressed. There are a million buttons to share this post… oh well, though. I’m over it. I was just furious with rage yesterday. I figure maybe it’s God telling me I need to stop working on my blog when I should be writing essays. I had a paper due today and yesterday, instead of writing it, I was working on trying to figure out that search term stuff lol So next time I’m ignoring my blog and I’m just going to writ the damn essay 😉

        • I know. Sometimes I lay awake at night and swear to myself that I will not even LOOK at wordpress- for like a week or two. 😉 There are higher priorities and uses of time. *SIGH*

  2. Also, I wouldn’t worry too much about the negative comments (well, being me, I would! But I shouldn’t, so that is the advice I give to you! Do as I say, not as I do… 😉 because you KNOW that if that had happened to any one of them, they would have been PISSED! 😉

  3. Love the Thrawn Trilogy! I’m really hoping they’ll make the new Star Wars movies based off them 🙂

    • I know! That would be SO GOOD! Except it’s been nearly 30 years since “Return” and they are only supposed to be 5 years after “Return”… hahah The actors are all very old now!

      • My thought would be they do like the new Star Trek and re-cast the characters. And then the old actors could have cameo roles.

        • We’ll have to agree to disagree on your last statement! lol (except Carrie Fisher, I’m not sure what happened to her, but she looks rather horrid) That’s why I said if Lucas got his act together 20 years ago… But those are really good stories and I love them so much that I would be willing to watch those movies and have other people play my biggest idols, than to watch something on par with the prequel trilogy. It was good, but the Thrawn trilogy is fricken awesome! Thrawn is SO COOL they need to get him on film. It would be pretty neat to see Mara Jade as well. Hopefully, but I feel as if they won’t….haha

        • Well, the old actors would just have brief roles – you know, like Carrie Fisher could have a ten second appearance as a senator or something. Not big roles or anything. 🙂

        • My boss from work suggested that Carrie Fisher could play a Hutt… lol that was mean… shame on me! 😦 haha I’m not sure if it would work so well because Star Wars is still SO popular and Star Trek was able to pull it off (quite well, I have to say) because the popularity of Trek was declining and they were able to pick up a whole new generation of fans, many of whom knew next to nothing about Trek before this movie. The thing with Star Wars is whether someone likes it, hates it, seen it or never watched it, they are still going to know Luke Skywalker, Han Solo and Princess Leia. It really amazes how popular Star Wars still is…but I’m not complaining. I LOVE seeing something Star Wars nearly everywhere I go, from the comic store, to the bookstore, Wal-Mart, Canadian Tire, the local Christmas shop and even grocery stores. I say, bring on the Star Wars lol It’s anyone’s game I guess. I just hope they don’t mess with the timeline of the books and comics because George Lucas did his best to keep that all very organized and planned out. We’ll just have to wait and see. Thanks for feeling sorry enough for me to comment on my post! hahaha 😉

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

