NaNoWriMo Wrap-Up

nano2012

Another NaNoWriMo is already finished and the subtle snow of November has turned into the frigid, tundra that Saskatchewan becomes in the months of December and January. I guess it’s a good thing for NaNoWriMo to be in winter – for me anyway – because there’s more excuse to stay home and actually write. I’m also fortunate that November is only the beginning of a five month winter in Saskatchewan, which means plenty of time to hide away from the oodles of snow that accumulates all winter long. I’ll just make a vast amount of hot chocolate and take it to my room where I will dwell in seclusion and just write.

Oh crap! This won’t work at all. I have finals I have to be writing, and then there’s this little thing called Christmas. I am still allowed to call it that, right? No one is offended if I say ‘Christmas’ instead of ‘Holidays’? Well, you know that Christmas is really a holiday meant for everyone to celebrate and it’s just downright ignorant for the Christians to call it their holiday.

I better stop ranting since this is supposed to be about NaNoWriMo. So I got 52,126 words this year! If you’re at all curious – and even if you’re not, too bad – here is how it measures up to my previous NaNoWriMo achievements:

2006-Lost Worlds: Horizon – 50,008
2007-Demonria: The Dark Chalice – 53,659
2008-Demonria: Prelude To A War – 51,396
2009-Harbinger: Surrogates Of Discord – 50,105
2010-Demonria: Waiting For The Sun – 52,223
2011-Black Ice – 50,244
2012-What If It All Means Something – 52,126

You’ll see that it’s not my highest word count – but it is close – and it certainly is not my lowest. 2006 was a stressful year…those 50,008 words came five minutes before December 1. I was in a panic for those five minutes, which went on forever, as I prayed that the NaNo server wouldn’t crash and still allow me to validate my words and win. Lucky for me, it all worked out.

Congratulations to everyone else who has written anything this month. Kudos to you. If you won and want to brag a little, I won’t mind if you are shamelessly self-absorbed when you write a comment. If you didn’t win but want to brag about what you did write this month, don’t.

Only kidding. I’d be more than happy to hear how any of my blog buddies faired this year! Even if you didn’t win, you still attempted and persevered. It doesn’t matter how many words you wrote, it’s how much enjoyment the writing brought you. Yes, November can get hectic at times and we often stress over our novels even when we’re not writing them. Not to mention that our inner editors, that we didn’t know were so forceful, try to have their way with us and our novels. That, I think, is the most vigorous challenge of NaNoWriMo.

Besides all of this, there is something really cool in knowing that while you are writing, 300,000 other people from around the world are putting their talents to the test in the same month-long adventure. For anyone who has not participated in NaNoWriMo before, I offer you my highest of recommendations to one of the greatest things I am privileged to be a part of. November just wouldn’t be the same without it. No I lied, my year just wouldn’t be the same without it.

Lastly, I’d like to commemorate all of the writers out there who did participate. No matter how much your wrote I have two things to say: good looking out and I salute you!

Thanks to all of my NaNo buddies, old and new, who really made this November very special!

Thanks for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Life, Nanowrimo, Writing | Tags: , | 19 Comments

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Wrap-Up

  1. monkeyfacekim

    Congratulations!

  2. Thanks for linking to my post, Will. Congratulations for exceeding your target, not just one, but for seven consecutive years!

  3. Congratulations! That’s a hell of an achievement. And you say you’re 19 and in school. Well, what do you really need sleep for anyway, right? Take a break kid, and relax a little.

    No really, congratulations, you really deserve it. Have you had any success in selling your finished novels?

    • Thank you so much! I’ve had mild success with my novel “Perspective”, re-titled from my 2009 NaNoWriMo mouthful “Harbinger: Surrogates Of Discord”. I self-published “Perspective” on Amazon Kindle this January and it actually broke the Top 50 Bestsellers in both the Suspense and Science-Fiction genres. I tried once to get a novel actually published two years ago but was met with rejection 😦 haha It was only once, though, so I’ve got a lot more trying to do. I’m actually re-working my 2007 novel “Demonria: The Dark Chalice”, including revision of plot, revision of setting, new characters and a new title. I’m hoping that will be something worth reading soon, but my current, most promising project is last year’s novel “Black Ice”. I’ve been really getting into editing it and fine tuning a lot of the rough edges. I just need to re-write the ending and then edit the whole thing and, hopefully, I’ll be sending it away for submissions by late January/February next year! Thanks for your interest and thanks for the comments! 🙂

    • Thanks! It’s nice to be able to function, go to school, go to work or even write novels on only two or three hours of sleep haha

  4. Pingback: The Rush of Falling Down Happy « cricketmuse

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

