Two Poems On Lost Love

Alright, I know I’m only 19 (I’ll actually be 20 in 20 days, but this is irrelevant) and can’t know everything there is to know about love…I’m actually not even sure I know anything about love (as in not husband-wife type thing). I guess I haven’t given it much thought and I am really not interested in getting married anytime soon. Clearly, I haven’t got the ‘marriage itch’ yet but I was told to ‘give it a few years and it’ll come’. It’s just never really crossed my mind.

Sometimes, though, I need to think about this for writing a story and I have to get into the mindset of certain people in different relationships. I try to visualize and imagine how it would feel, but I really don’t know for certain. There have been a few rare instances when inspiration strikes and I want to write about love. I’ve written several ‘love poems’, I guess you could call them. I’m not sharing those with you today. It’s been a rather melancholy day, so I thought I’d share a couple of dreary and dejection poems about wayward love, yearning and people gone astray.

022

It wasn’t too melancholy today though, because my wonderful mother made Lemon Raspberry Muffins! Yumm! Take a look…if you’re okay being jealous:

023

Please, though, don’t get plagued with any kind of distress. They’re not too despondent, as they both seem to have an optimistic hue with a glimmer of hope (even if it is futile).

I Love You Still

I love you

I always have

I think about you

And what we could have had

I need you

I always will

I long to feel your touch

I love you still

Come Home

I still see your face

When I close my eyes

I still remember the place

That our love let us fly

I still long for you

In the middle of the night

Won’t you come back home

So we can make things right

I really wanted to try and fit the word lugubrious into this post, but I could find no way of doing so without it seeming like I was trying to fit it in! 😉 So I’ll leave you now, for I have an essay to write, a stats test to study for and now, looming ominously on the horizon is my first final next Friday! And here I thought November was busy….

Good luck to everyone who’s still got a couple more hours of NaNoWriMo!!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Life, Poetry, Writing | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Two Poems On Lost Love

  1. Pingback: Love Poems. For Joni Mitchell by Elizabeth Dunphey | Yareah Magazine

  2. Pingback: The Dad Poet

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

