NaNoWriMo Day 29 – Everyone Else Can Go Home Now…

Yes, that’s right. I won NaNoWriMo yesterday. I’m really very ecstatic because, for a while in the middle of the month, I wasn’t certain if I was going to pull it off. I did, however, and managed to get it done early, too. By a whole two days!

It has definitely been a good NaNoWriMo for me this year, especially considering I took a stab at a genre outside of Sci-Fi and Fantasy, which is very rare for me to do. Now, the novel started out decently enough, but there comes a time when you have to face the facts of life. I would be a liar if I didn’t admit that I’m more than a tad ashamed about the latter half of what I’ve written this month. If ever there comes a time when I decide I want to edit this novel and make it complete, oh I’m definitely going to need a lot of patience. I should probably avoid a gun in case I decided to shoot myself while editing this utter crap that came out of my mind. In simpler terms, I find Sci-Fi and Fantasy far easier to write and convey my ideas and I figure that’s just because I’ve had a lot of practice writing in these genres. Maybe if I tried writing some more General Fiction, I would improve my skill-set n that particular domain. Until then, though, I’ve got this really cool novel I’m working on, called Black Ice. You can preview it here. It’s bound to be one of my finest. That goes without being said, I think. Everything I touch is gold, isn’t it? (Except for this year’s NaNo novel).

It’s indubitably been a much fevered month, but a welcome change to the usual mundane life I live outside NaNoWriMo. I met a couple of new friends through NaNo this year, some in various, exotic locations on Earth where they are not subjected to temperatures of -25 degrees Celsius, or live in a blanket of snow. I’m clearly not jealous, though.

Well this is it. This is the end of today’s post; it’s sole purpose to convey to you my excitement for having written 50,000 words in one month for my seventh year in a row.

I did mention to you that I won NaNoWriMo, right? Okay, good. I just thought that it was significant enough for you to be aware of.

I’d ask how you November went for you, but I’m too busy praising myself. Talk to me when you’ve won seven times.

Only kidding of course! I’m not thatnarcissistic or self-indulged. And If I am, it’s only because I’m better than you. I’m really not, I just like to tell myself these things. It helps me get out of bed each morning.

Seriously, though, how did NaNoWriMo go for everyone else? Did you get the 50,000 words? Maybe you had a lower goal, in which case did you reach your goal? Maybe you surpassed your goal? Or are you still writing? I’ll still be trucking away because I’ve got one more day of writing to try and make this my biggest win yet. We’ll see about that, though! 😉

Thanks for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Life, Nanowrimo, Writing | Tags: , , | 28 Comments

Post navigation

28 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 29 – Everyone Else Can Go Home Now…

  1. Congratulations, Will!!

    • Thank you =D I see that you won as well. You just had to have 1,000 more words than me, didn’t you? hahaha just kidding! Thanks for being such an awesome reader of my blog! It really means a lot to me!

  2. Congrats! I managed to win as well, just before – 50k words, a whole novel!!! Though, I am dreading the editing process, I’ve never liked editing, and now, this… in the ending chapters my spelling is terrible and words are occasionally punctuated with =’s from stabbing at, and missing, the delete key.
    But this has been such fun! Nanowrimo is one of The Awesomest Things Ever, in my humble opinion. It is rather strange now that it’s over. 😀

    • That’s so awesome! Congrats to you as well! Was this your first NaNo? I, too agree that is is the Awesomest Thing Ever! I also agree that it is kind of stranger being over. It’s like a weight had lifted, but it’s also like: “Oh, where did November go? I just stated having fun.” And yes, editing is not fun. I despise it with a fiery passion that could set a house on fire. So naturally, I find it very difficult to edit. Often times I start a new novel as an excuse to put of the editing process. But that time “after I finish this new novel” never comes and thus, my novels rarely get edited haha Thanks so much for the comment! Good luck with all your writing endeavors!

      • Yes, this is my first NaNo. Even now, I keep thinking, ‘I should update my word count’ and then realise ‘oh, I’m done, I’m finished…’ This novel is probably longer than everything else I’ve ever written combined. If I couldn’t edit 10k, I hate to think what 50k will be like, though I have the extra motivation of the 5 free copies from CreateSpace, so I’d certainly want it edited by then. Ugh. Editing. (Hm why isn’t there a NaNoEditMo?)
        Thanks for your reply, best wishes with all your novels!! 😀

    • Oh, but there is: http://www.nanoedmo.net/ hahaha I’ve never participated but I found out about its existence during my early years in NaNo haha

  3. Congrats! That’s a really huge accomplishment. Most people can’t even write 500 words. 🙂

  4. Congratulations! You should allow yourself to be a little self-indulged after winning for seven years. 😉 I was all pumped up this year, but unfortunately work and a cursed computer happened and I only got to 15k. But I suppose there’s always time next year!

    • Thanks! I’ll try to keep my narcissism on the down low. Don’t want to lose any followers by showing them up…hahaha just kidding! Nice 15k, too! Don’t be discouraged. That’s a lot of words, too, and that’s 15k more than many people write their entire lives. It’s also 15k written in one month that you may have only written half of that or less! Was this your first NaNoWriMo?

      • Actually this is my fifth time. I won the first three times and managed to publish one of my NaNo novels. But last year and this one were a complete pain!

        • Oh cool! It’s nice to meet some people who’ve done NaNo several times before. I understand the pain. Last year was hard for me, too, but I still think NaNo is awesome!

  5. Pingback: Day 30 of NaNoWriMo | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  6. Congratulations – that’s awesome!

    • Thanks! 🙂 I’m quite excited as NaNoWriMo is like the BEST thing I do with my life haha Thanks for reading and commenting! 🙂

  7. Congratulations, I’m so happy for you, thoughI didn’t finished, stopped at 11k so my other novel could come out! Make sure to publish your novel,will be one of the first to buy!!

  8. Congratulations!!

  9. Pingback: NaNo ’12 Day 29 | Side Quest Publications

  10. Congratulations!

  11. Shauna

    congrats on the early win! I broke 50k earlier today and am trying to wrap up my story as best I can. There’s no way I’m going to break my record set last year though (I finished with something like 56k words then).

    • Thanks! I wanted to beat my record of 53.5k but I am just too exhausted to attempt it. These last two hours of November are for relaxing haha I’ll set a goal of 55k next year!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

