NaNoWriMo Day 27 – Is There Anyone Who Wants To Lend Me Some Words?

There’s only three days left, pretty much, and I’m stuck here in need of almost 8,000 words. I’m going to have to try writing furiously over the next few days so that I can finish on time. It’s just something I have to do. Seven is a lucky number and I don’t want my first time losing NaNoWriMo to be my seventh year at it. I like to imagine myself as a seasoned NaNoWriMo veteran but, no matter how many times you take on Mission: NaNoWriMo, each year is wrought with unique challenges and various bumps along the road to November 30th. It’s a very satisfying experience, though, and I think each year I learn something about my writing and myself that I didn’t know before. So, win or lose, it’s all a learning opportunity. I say this because I want to convey a message that it’s okay for you to not reach the 50,000 words because NaNoWriMo is about more than that. If I don’t make it to 50,000 words I probably will give up writing and become a bitter hermit.

Well I did say it was okay for you not to make the 50,000, but I’m a different story entirely.

This November has definitely been my most tumultuous NaNoWriMo. I actually wrote 12,000 words in my first novel idea before I hastily decided, three days into NaNo, that I wanted to write about something else. This isn’t typically something I’m prone to do – in actuality it’s never happened before – but I felt like it was something necessary for me to do. Apparently, NaNoWriMo told me I can still use those 12,000 words towards my novel (and just pretend it was a dream or whatever), but I decided to see how the month would go if I didn’t. This means that technically I already have over 50,000 words, but because it’s not in the same novel, I don’t feel right using those words. Besides, then I’d have ‘won’ NaNo already, and where’s the fun in that? I mean, don’t you enjoy the feeling of sheer panic as you try to scramble to meet a deadline that seams almost impossible?

For my fellow writers who are in the same detriment as myself, I’d like to iterate to you that we can make it to the end of NaNoWriMo. I can already taste the victory on my tongue. So if we all come together to cheer me on, I’m sure I’ll get the 50,000.

Wait a minute…I mean we should all come together and cheer each other on, all of us. You know, because your 50,000 words are just as significant and commendable as mine.

That was a bit of a challenge for me to formulate those exact words, and now I find myself parched from a throat that tightened up. Excuse me while I have a drink from the coolest glass of Coke you’ll ever see.

Back to the serious stuff. Rather, I shall now begin the serious portion of this post (if there can be such a thing).

I have definitely had fun this November, regardless of what my word count is now. It’s not that low, but it’s not 50,000 words either. I usually finish around this time because I realize my word count is so low that I just hammer out 10,000 words in one day and push myself over the line, but this has definitely been an interesting month for me.

I like to tell myself that the reason I haven’t written everyday this month is because of school, but there’s only so long that argument goes. If you’ve been here since the beginning of the month you’ll have noticed I’ve posted nearly every day (damn you Saturday the 24th). I’ve been collecting my posts in a word document just so that I can have easier access to them and as a back up because I write them all on Word before I upload them to my blog, anyway.

In doing this, the later into the month it gets is the more I realize that time I could have spent writing my novel was put into time writing this blog. I’ve actually written and posted over 26,000 words on this blog in November alone. Do you know what this tells me?

No, I’m not going to stop posting everyday when NaNoWriMo is in town. This tells me that next year I should be a little more proactive and write a novel about a university student who writes his own online blog. Wouldn’t it just be fantastic? I could kill two birds with one stone and have some more free time in the month.

Nevertheless, this still leaves me with 8,000 words to write between now and Friday. This means goodbye, for now. Good luck to those of you still writing for NaNoWriMo. We’ve still got time!

Thanks for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Life, Nanowrimo, Writing | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 27 – Is There Anyone Who Wants To Lend Me Some Words?

  1. I have a few to spare:

    If, Umm, crandycanes (made that up), rope scotch, better than not, better than did, and upside brown sound cake.

    • Wow…I could write a whole novel on these…haha thanks for the laugh. I especially enjoyed: “upside brown sound cake”. Wonder what it tastes like…

  2. Pingback: NaNo ’12 Day 26 | Side Quest Publications

  3. Haha, cool post! Can’t lend you any words though, I need them all for myself! *greedy eyes* I lowered my word goal earlier this month to ‘win,’ thinking I couldn’t finish (I wrote too much and hurt my wrists) but just decided today, since my hands work again after no typing in 11 days, to go and try for 50k anyway. That means I have two days to write 10k I need. 10k in two days is what wrecked my wrists last time so now I’m just wondering if I’ve decided to make a very stupid mistake!!
    This is my first NaNo so mebbe I shouldn’t worry too much. Anyways. Best wishes with finishing your novel! 😀

    • Thanks so much! 🙂 I just managed to write nearly 8,000 words tonight and got me over 45k! I’m so ecstatic right now. This is definitely doable. So, let’s hope I get my seventh win and good luck to you getting your first!! I hope you’ve enjoyed your first NaNo! It’s definitely a roller coaster of awesome!

  4. Good luck completing NanoWriMo Will – got my fingers crossed for you son, I know you can do it! Nice aside with the Supes ice cubes in your Coke too, made me chuckle!

  5. Pingback: Day 28 of NaNowriMo | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  6. Pingback: NaNo ’12 Day 27 | Side Quest Publications

  7. Pingback: My Novel Is Complete But I Have Not Yet Reached 50,000 Words? | An Evil Nymph's Blog

  8. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Day 29 – Everyone Else Can Go Home Now… « What If It All Means Something

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

