The Art Of Making Christmas Cookies

Every year around the Holiday Season, my family makes Christmas cookies. Everything from gingerbread men and gingerbread houses, to sugar cookie angels and Christmas trees, etc.  It’s actually a very serious tradition and I love doing it every year. I don’t bake anything…that would be a mess. I just decorate – which is still a mess – but it is a ton of fun!

Now, we haven’t made any yet this year. It’s just too early. Won’t do it for a couple of more weeks, but I’ve been getting in the ‘Christmas Spirit’ and my anticipation for Christmas decorations, music and cookies is growing. I was going to do another NaNoWriMo update today, but I haven’t written anything since the last NaNoWriMo post, so I need a filler.

It is a fun filler, though, as I have some pictures to share from last year’s Christmas Cookie Annual Event. This is why decorating Christmas cookies is so fun at my house:

I think if I ever need to see a therapist, I will hide these pictures and deny their existence.

Well, I have one last picture. Yesterday, I went with my parents to the Festival of Trees in Saskatoon. It’s a charity event where people design and decorate Christmas Trees and then donate them to be put on display and up for auction. You just walk around and look at Christmas Trees. Part of your entrance fee goes to the museum, where the Festival is held, and the other part is donated to the Hospital, so even if you don’t buy a tree (because some of them are very expensive) you still get to donate some money through your ticket price.

It’s really fun because I love Christmas, and so does my family. They usually have live bands playing Christmas music and there is also a Gingerbread House auction and some of the houses are AMAZING. I apologize for not taking any pictures to show you. Anyways, the reason I’m tell you all of this is because I bought a gingerbread man cookie at the Festival.

I guess I didn’t need to tell you any of that, I could have just said I bought a cookie. Whatever! I like telling stories and you like listening to them otherwise you wouldn’t be here. So, when I came home I was trying to figure out how to eat this gingerbread man. I was trying to debate between legs and arms first and I finally decided to eat the poor bastards arms first. I didn’t realize that this was what I’d be left with:

After my mom pointed out to me just what exactly it looked like, I had a little bit of trouble eating the rest of the cookie.

Well I think I touched bases on all things cookies. That’s all you’re getting from me ce soir! Thanks for reading and viewing!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Christmas, Family, Life, Writing | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “The Art Of Making Christmas Cookies

  1. At least its smiling…

  2. I love how your Mom pointed that out. Bet you’re like “Mom! I’m trying to enjoy an innocent Gingerbread Man here and now you’ve ruined it! Jeez! You are sick! It’s like living with a child or something!” [Just kidding Will’s Mom – no offence intended! 🙂 ]

    • No, no! It definitely is like living with a child. Sometimes I’m really surprised at what comes out of her mouth. And it usually takes a lot to say something that surprises me because I’m usually the vulgar one lol

  3. There's a frog on my Sprocket!

    Will, your cookie is very large I must say ; )
    This is great just great I’m seriously laughing
    alison

    • lol thanks so much! I’m laughing too now, and laughter is simply the best! Thanks for always bringing me so much! Why do we have to live so far away? I feel like we’d be awesome friends if we ever met! haha By the way, I hope you noticed that I nominated you for Very Inspirational Blogger! Thanks again, Alison!

      • There's a frog on my Sprocket!

        Will,
        I did notice and I’m thrilled. I think I have a bit of free time coming up this weekend and that means time to get caught up.
        It is a bummer that we are an ocean away. I do think we get along well and could have fun laughing at other patrons if we hangout together at a cyber cafe… Not that we are the sorts to find joy at the expense of others.
        Hope you are well and getting ready for Christmas!

    • I totally agree!! I love laughing at other patrons because I know they’re probably laughing at me and I’m okay if they want to hahaha life’s about having fun and I’m not here to offend people, I’m here to have fun haha 😉

      • There's a frog on my Sprocket!

        Will don’t let the girlfriend see this. It’s me giving you a big kiss!
        Wish more people where more like you, we’d all be better off.

      • Well thank you! Every time I think you’re too good and nice to be true and meaning it, you come back around with something even nicer than before! You really are very genuine and I’m glad we know each other, even if we’re only cyber friends haha

  4. Thanks, Will, for letting me know about what happened to this post. I am new to wordpress and was reciprocating by visiting blogs of those who stopped by mine.

    This post was awesome and I can’t wait to read more.

    Booke

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

