NaNoWriMo Day 20 – On Sexy Paragraphs and Other Unrelated Topics

It was such a stunningly beautiful morning in Saskatoon, today. I walk through a park to get to my bus stop. At the top of the hill in this park, this was what greeted me. I’m surprised that, in my half-asleep state, I thought of taking a couple photos (thank God for iPhones) but I’m glad that I did.

Well we’re officially two thirds of the way through NaNoWriMo. I wish it were just a little longer, but seeing as how I start writing finals on December 7th, it’s definitely for the better that I don’t have NaNoWriMo to procrastinate on when I should really be studying.

Well, my novel is not turning out how I originally planned, but I kind of like the direction it’s going in. Someone who I thought would be a major character is really non-existent so I may have to re-work some of the earlier stuff, but that’s really okay. I can say, though, that I may not be in the position to be posting any more of What If It All Means Something anytime soon.

I really need to re-work some of it, and the grammar is horrendous. I type extremely fast (I think, anyways) and sometimes, when a finger slips it’s hard to catch it. Also, some of the sentences themselves could use a little work. I’m not just talking about the syntax, either.

Also, I’ve been so engulfed in editing Black Ice that I really am much more interested in finishing that novel before I edit and complete What If It All Means Something. I’m sure this is not a big issue for most…you probably don’t even give a damn, but hey, I better inform you my plans. If I don’t, there will be that one reader who starts commenting : “When are you going to post more of What If It All Means Something?” If, after this post, someone decides to ask that, I think I have garnered the right to publicly humiliate him, call him all sorts of nasty names and infer many unappealing things about his intelligence and his family. I won’t provide any examples…just use your imagination.

On a slightly unrelated note, if there are any feminists out there, please don’t get in pickle because I used ‘him’. I did this for what I think are obvious reasons: 1) English has no neuter, third person singular pronoun, 2) writing ‘them’ and ‘their’ would just be grammatically incorrect, and 3) writing ‘him/her’ is far too much work to write and makes a normally sexy paragraph look very awkward. I don’t hate women, so don’t get all up in my grill.

What? I’m not bitter about feminists. Not at all…
That’s all that I will say on that topic…I don’t particularly like my feet in my mouth. More importantly, though, I don’t want to start an argument that you’re going to lose. I just always win arguments. Most likely because I’m too stubborn and arrogant, but we don’t need to get into that subject either.

This is probably as good a time as any to get back into the conversation about NaNoWriMo, right? Oh good, I was worried for a second that you weren’t going to agree.

I didn’t get a chance to write anything in my novel today (sad face) but I did get a decent chunk of nearly 6,000 words yesterday, pushing my word count over 36,000 and now, officially, ahead of schedule. I may get a chance to write some more tonight. I won’t know for certain, though. I’ll have to wait and see how much of my soul this history essay wishes to eat tonight, first.

I guess now is as good a time as any to find this out. (That means I’m ending this post, but not before I ask a few questions).

How’s NaNoWriMo for everyone else? Feeling any pressure? Any winners out there (I hate you already)?

Good luck to all!

Thanks for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Life, Photography, Writing | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 20 – On Sexy Paragraphs and Other Unrelated Topics

  1. Do not give in to your inner editor! You have to let it go, at least for a few more days. Just think, in 9 days, you have free reign to chop your story to bits, but for now, just write, write, write, write. Worry about the character change when November is over!

    • I agree! Sometimes I can’t help it…I’m a perfectionist. This is my seventh NaNo, I’ve won all years previous, but never written more then 53k in the month. I’ve written 5-10k in one day before, so I always wonder how much I could actually write if I didn’t edit – I rarely edit, but i think I edit enough to have it effect what I could write.

  2. Pingback: NaNo ’12 Day 20 | Side Quest Publications

  3. Pingback: NaNo ’12 Day 21 | Side Quest Publications

  4. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Day 23 – All Good Things Start With ‘C’ « What If It All Means Something

  5. Pingback: 5 Things I Figured Out During This Year’s NaNoWriMo « My Two Cents

  6. Pingback: NaNoWriMo: All downhill from here | Michael McMullen

  7. Pingback: 5 Reasons Why This Year’s NaNoWriMo Will Never See The Light Of Day « My Two Cents

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

