NaNoWriMo Day 18 – Warning: This Title May Contain False Advertising!

Well, what can I tell you? Not much actually, because my brain is as close to being asleep as it ever is. It’s 10:30 pm and I just got home after working for ten hours. It was a really long day and I had to stay later than usual because there was some birthday party going on and I had to wait until they left so I could go clean up their mess…and what a mess it was, indeed. You might be wondering what it is I do for work?

Well, around my university schedule, I work part time as a Dietary Aide in a retreat house. The place is called Queen’s House and they have several dining rooms and conference halls that people rent out for different functions. If they wish to organize a multiple-day retreat, there are many, many rooms for people to stay overnight. It’s a fairly large complex and an extremely fun place to work at. That being said, any place I might work at would be loads of fun for the simple reason that I ooze fun.

As for my actual position, Dietary Aide is really just a fancy name for chef’s assistant (but, I like Dietary Aide better; if there is a opportunity for me to be ostentatious, I’m all over it). I don’t do any of the cooking, that’s left to the two chefs at Queen’s House – and it’s probably for the better, too. I do everything in the kitchen that isn’t cooking – all the grunt work.

Usually I can be found prepping vegetables for the cooks, portioning desserts and making them look pretty, preparing fruit trays, making salads and other menial tasks in the kitchen. Oh yeah, and I get to do the dishes. All the dishes. There are ways to make it interesting, though. Like this fruit tray I put together today. I named it “The Bird’s Nest”.

Who wouldn’t want to eat some fruit off this marvelous tray? I could barely help myself.

Apart from getting to be creative with pineapples, watermelons, grapes and cantaloupe, my job is awesome because I work with some real great people and we’re always laughing (even if they are all more than twice my age and the opposite sex). We’re having a Murder Mystery Dinner for our Christmas party and I get to be some pool boy named Fabio Fabulous…as if the old ladies weren’t creeping on me enough already! šŸ˜‰

I guess I should talk about NaNoWriMo now. I was quite enthused to have written nearly 5,000 words yesterday, for a grand total of 30,654. That’s the plus side to this coin. The plus plus side (if there exists such a thing) is that I need 30,000 words by the end of today, so I’m ahead. The down side to this, then, is that I probably won’t be writing any tonight. Don’t be in a panic, I will survive until morning. If, however, for some fortuitous happening that leaves me unable to write at all tomorrow, it is very likely I’ll begin experiencing withdrawal. It could get ugly.

With this I leave you. If I’ve totally gone wacko with my next post tomorrow, it’s because I’ve still had the misfortune of not being able to write. For now, though, I really have to study for a Latin test, which is tomorrow. Why is it it always Monday? My Latin prof always gives us tests on Mondays and it really stinks. This is why I’ve become a coffee fiend. That, and coffee tastes really good. No morning is complete without it.

Have you caught on to my devious ploys of procrastination? I really don’t want to study so I’m trying to make this post as lengthy as possible (without sacrificing your much needed enjoyment) by just talking about anything. If you cut all the extra crap out, there’s only one paragraph about NaNoWriMo. Is this really false advertising? Who cares! False or not it worked because you’re still reading.

Now I really have to go study. Oh, wait! First I better eat this scrumptious, homemade chocolate cake with delectable fudge icing. My mom baked it today because my oldest brother was over and it was his birthday on the 13th. I’m so glad I do martial arts, otherwise I’d probably be fat from all of the delicious garbage that I eat.

Thanks for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Family, Life, Nanowrimo, Writing | Tags: , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 18 – Warning: This Title May Contain False Advertising!

  1. Who doesn’t love the creative foodie?

  2. Very creative! The more I read your blog, the more I wonder just what my daughter does when she’s away at college…Probably better that I don’t know! šŸ˜‰

  3. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Day 23 « My Two Cents

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

