NaNoWriMo Day 16 – What’s Been Eating Up All Of My Time?

Yes, that is a chocolate clock. I’d like to say that I made this decadent sculpture of architectural finesse, but I just took the picture – while salivating, no doubt.

Sometimes I feel that NaNoWriMo keeps its timing with a chocolate clock much like this one, and someone – or something – has been gobbling it up way too fast. It was most likely me because, when it comes to chocolate, I just can’t help myself.

I’m finding it hard believe that it is already the 16th of November. I guess I’ve just been so busy with six classes at university (a full course load is five – yikes), working a part time job 20 hours a week and trying to do NaNoWriMo. I’m still keeping up with my word count – made almost 26,000 words yesterday on the 15th – but it really just seems unbelievable to me that we’re already over half done. It feels like I just started NaNo and I’ve only been writing my novel for a couple of days, not a couple weeks. To think that I’ve already written 26,000 words just seems hard for me to grasp! I don’t know where the time went!

How does anyone else feel about this? How has NaNo been going for you?

I guess it’s a good thing, though, that NaNoWriMo is during winter here in Saskatchewan, otherwise this chocolate clock wouldn’t wait for someone to eat it; it would just melt. Then I’d really be screwed.

Thanks for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Life, Writing | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 16 – What’s Been Eating Up All Of My Time?

  1. Mmm… chocolate clock! Good thing it’s in a glass case or I’d be eating it.

    • Me too! I was tempted to break the glass…but then I realized there would be glass shards in the chocolate and then I wouldn’t be able to eat it anyway…. lol

  2. There's a frog on my Sprocket!

    26,000 words! Way to go Will!
    also, how secure from theft was that clock? I’m thinking we attack by night… Very covert, you bring the marshmallows and I’ll bring the graham crackers. Are you good at building camp fires?
    Again good job on NaNoWriMo!
    alison

    • I think this is my favourite comment I’ve received on my blog. Thanks so much Alison for all of the support and fun you bring.
      It just so happens that I have marshmallows (of various sizes) just chillin’ in my cupboard at this very moment. Now, I didn’t notice an alarm on the case, so if we can get past the glass without getting shards embedded in the chocolate, then I think we’re set.
      Also, I do have a fair amount of experience building campfires. Just tell me when.
      😉 Thanks again, Alison!

      • There's a frog on my Sprocket!

        Will, I have one word yes and soon… Oops that’s two.
        Hugs for my buddy Will. I’m so glad you share your world with us.
        alison

      • Same to you! And I’m so glad you enjoy my world…even it it does get a little crazy at times!

  3. Pingback: Assorted Doctor Who Theories–Intro and Cardiff Rift | Side Quest Publications

  4. stillstrange

    I love to write while wearing my pajama’s and since it is getting a bit cool here, for us anyway. I think I’ve been living in them. I wrote all day for Nano and am over 28k. I have a new deadline though because I just found out I have surgery scheduled for the 28th which means I have to be finished by the 27th.

    • Oh yikes! Look like someone’s bitten off your last three days of NaNo! I hope that it all (NaNo and the surgery) goes well for you! 🙂 You seem to have had a great first half of NaNo. Thanks for reading and good luck to you!

  5. While I have not been working on a novel this month, I have been working on multiple short stories, play scripts, academic papers, annotated bibliographies, written reports for a storytelling class, daily blog posts, and play reviews….enough words, I’m sure, to make a novel, if all the separate assignments followed the same theme. I, too, wonder where the time is going. 😛

    • You seem to be just as busy, if not busier, than I. I wish I could take a storytelling class at my university… I think they have a creative writing class, but nothing fancy.

      • CW is my major. :))) The only thing Undisclosed University doesn’t have is a novel writing class, which they dropped from the program before my time. Sad, considering that’s what I would love to do the most–don’t we all–but surely experience and trying is the best way to learn.

    • Well said! I would like to take the Creative Writing course offered at my university, because I think it’s the only one. Hopefully I get a chance to! Lucky for you that you get to major in CW! I guess most universities can’t offer EVERYTHING… 😦 haha

  6. Pingback: NaNo ’12 Day 16 | Side Quest Publications

  7. Pingback: Twas the Saturday before Thanksgiving… « Run4joy59's Blog

  8. Pingback: NaNoWriMo 2012 Success | Writing Fiction Blog

  9. Pingback: NaNo ’12 Day 17 | Side Quest Publications

  10. Pingback: NaNoWriMo and the 10,000 Words… « Toward the within…

  11. Pingback: NaNo ’12 Day 18 | Side Quest Publications

  12. Pingback: NANOWRIMO… « khrystleraineduste

  13. Pingback: NaNo ’12 Day 20 | Side Quest Publications

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

