NaNoWriMo Day 14 – Where The Sun Don’t Shine

Well it’s Day 14 already. November is just flying past….faster than a speeding bullet ;). After tomorrow, we’ll be halfway through. It is both joyous and saddening. NaNo is lots of fun and I don’t want it to end…but writing without a 50,000 word deadline can also be nice, too.

Well, I’m nearly at 24,000 words and have not yet written today. My goal is to get a couple more thousand words in, surpassing the halfway mark a whole day early! Hopefully I’ll be able to write all evening/night.

I said ‘evening/night’ for a reason, and you get to be so lucky to hear why. It’s kind of funny, actually, because evening has a different meaning for me throughout the year. When I say evening in the summer, I usually mean the couple of hours after supper and before the sun sets. Once it’s dark outside, I consider it night time. In the winter, though, I can’t use this to judge what I mean by evening and night. That’s because the sun sets before I eat supper. This picture was taken at 5:00 pm today:

If I called it evening before the sun sets, evening would be at 4:00 pm and night would begin at 5:00 pm. Now, why does this matter? Well, quite frankly, you probably don’t give a damn and it really doesn’t matter, except these are the kinds of weird things that my mind thinks about when I’m sitting in class trying so hard to pay attention. And, sometimes, when I’m at home, too…

Apart from the early sunset, the fact I had classes today or even that it’s cold outside, I’m actually quite happy today. Why? Because it’s Wednesday!

Today is also Wednesday, and that means that it is new comic book day. That means I get to go down to the comic store and pick up all the new series that came out this particular week. This is what this week looks like:

Look at all that comic reading goodness! Can’t wait to get started…after I finish last week’s comics because I’ve been so focused on NaNoWriMo…

I’m also starting to realize that me being poor has nothing to do with me being a student. By the time the month is done, I get about thirty different comic titles. Most are released once a month, but a couple come out twice a month. They cost either $2.99 or $3.99, so that’s a lot of money on comics in a month….It all makes sense now… I still do, however, like to play the old ‘I’m a poor university student’ card. It is great, though, that I can live at home rent-free, because then I’m able to pay for a car, my cell-phone and comic books each month. I figure, as long as I have enough to pay for my tuition – which I have to pay because my parents just can’t afford to do it – then I can go wild on comics. Apart from my car and phone, they’re really the only things I spend money on all month… Apart from all of this, comics really are the highlight of my life! 😉

I’m told my rambling is really bad, just like an old person. Now that you know enough about my finances that you could write me a budget, what do you think? Do I ramble too much? If you answer ‘yes’, this is the part where you quietly close your browser and never come back to my blog, please and thank you. I was just going to say that I’m really not that arrogant or mean, but I was taught not to tell lies, so we’ll just leave it as is!

I better go now, before I talk myself into a hole or something like that.

Good luck to everyone partaking in NaNoWriMo. Good luck to everyone who has to brave the elements of a freezing, dark winter. It’s like Hoth out there. Wish I had a tauntaun…..

Thank you all for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Life, Photography, Writing | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 14 – Where The Sun Don’t Shine

  1. Diggin’ the Star Wars comic you have hiding behind there. Good tastes!

    • Thanks! I love Star Wars and comic books…if you couldn’t tell haha I do like me some DC and Marvel as well! Thanks for reading!

      • Honestly, if I had the money I’d be in the same boat as you. Marvel is way good. I’m enjoying the turn of some of the darker stories they’re going into. As well with DC. If I ever had the chance, I’d grab every Batman one I could… Haha.

    • Me too..but Batman has so many…. 😦 haha my favourite, though, is Superman. Nothing else comes close in my eyes haha

  2. Hey, thanks for commenting on my blog today. I totally follow your rambling – keep it up! The comic collection is impressive, but being a fabric lover, the first thing I noticed in that photo is the way cool black and white quilt backdrop. Luckyyy… Impressive word count too. Way 2 go!

    • It’s the warmest quilt ever! My parents bought it at some crafts trade show, so it’s homemade. 🙂 Thanks for reading

  3. Pingback: NaNo ’12 Day 14 | Side Quest Publications

  4. Pingback: nano- nov. 15, 2012 « Lissa's Long Yarn

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

