NaNoWriMo Day 13 – All The Places That I’ve Been

Another day, another word – not for me, though. I haven’t started writing yet today (it’s not even 7:00 pm and I just ate supper). I plan on spending most of the day writing, though. I want to get ahead on my word count. It was nice being ahead…for those few days that I was ahead.

I’ve got a plethora of ideas about to explode from my head that I really NEED to get out and into my story. Only problem is, they’re all supposed to happen at different points in the story. I need to be patient and calm down – take a deep breath. I don’t want to plan too much, because when I plan the entire novel, it reads very choppily, as if I just strung a bunch of points together. I’m sure, then, that most of these ideas I have will have changed or been replaced with new ones by the time I get to those parts, as is the usual case. Oh, the trepidations we writers face.

Well if everything works out the way I want it to, I’ll be able to lock myself in room all evening and get some serious writing done. I write so much better when I’m alone and secluded. My door is usually shut, my music is usually playing and my parents rarely bother me. It’s the perfect setting for writing…well, actually the perfect setting for anything. I’m in my room nearly all the time I’m home. My mom always says when I only come out looking for food, like some kind of animal, before I slip back into hiding in my den. I guess it’s sort of appropriate…although I am more civilised than most animals. Whenever I tell here this, though, she retorts, “Oh, sorry. You’re like a vampire then.” Hey, I’ll take vampire. That’s kind of cool…as long as I don’t have sparkling skin….

Whatever I am, my room truly is my sanctuary. The main reason I spend all my time in there, though, is my laptop is in there and I’ve got a great desk for writing, doing homework or whatever else I might find myself needing to do at a desk. Besides, who wouldn’t want to hang around all of the books I have? Sometimes when I really don’t want to study, write an essay, etc. I’ll just sit here and look through all of my books. It’s actually more fun than it sounds…for me, anyways…

I’m not completely alone either. Sheba, my cat, seems to always be in my room. I leave a sweater on the bed for her so she can curl up inside. Sometimes I’ll get distracted at how cute she is and have to go pet her. She’s gorgeous, though. Take a look.

How could you not love that? She’s cute enough to eat.

I really should get crackin’ on NaNo, though. I’ll try not let Sheba distract me, because then I won’t get my 50,000 words and I’ll be so depressed I’ll have to get a second cat. Before I know it, I’ll be like the Crazy Cat Lady, only a man instead. The sad part is I can almost see it…it makes me shudder, but I can still almost see it.

If I ever start posting an excessive amount of pictures of an excessive amount of cats, please try to get me an intervention. I’m already OCD with all of my collectible stuff…I don’t need to add cats to the list, too!

Before I go, I wanted to talk a little bit about inspiration. I’ve been thinking a lot about my novel lately and nearly everywhere I go now, I discover something inspiring that help fuels my writing. It’s kind of ironic because I’m writing about California and beaches and this is what it looks like outside:

Call me crazy, I don’t care. I probably am slightly insane. It’s just something I’ve come to live with. I really believe, though, that nothing is skin deep and inspiration comes from what’s underneath. We may have to scratch the surface a little, but there is inspiration all around us.

And speaking of inspiration, here’s a poem that I was inspired to write today:

Places

 

Somewhere

At the end of every road

Lies the answer to your prayers

Shedding light you’ve never known

Out there

In the winds of yesterday

Is a promise to be found

And a path to guide your way

Leading you places you’ve never been

And places you never thought you’d go

Just a step behind the fog

Where the falling ice recedes

That’s the place where you will find

Everything you ever need

So, Day 13! How’s it going for everybody else? Is it easy to write, or getting harder each day? Where do you get your inspiration from?

Thanks for reading,

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Family, Life, Photography, Poetry, Writing | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 13 – All The Places That I’ve Been

  1. Great to read about the progress another nanowrimer is making! Just passed 25K last night so I am hoping I will finish this year. I finished on time for the first time last year. 🙂 By the way, I am a little jealous of the snow. You’d think I would be covered in snow since I am in Sweden. But Stockholm has zero snow.

    • Really? No snow at all? That kind of sucks. I don’t mind the snow…In Saskatchewan we get snow late October, early November and it stays for at least five months, sometimes going into April. I guess living here, you have to not mind the snow otherwise half of the year will suck for you haha And I agree! I love connecting with other NaNo writers. It’s fun to share the experience with other people. Great job on getting half way! Thanks for reading! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Unabridged (A Poem) « What If It All Means Something

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

