Day 3: When Hell Freezes Over

For those of you in my time zone, or close to it, we’re just beginning Day 3 of NaNoWriMo. It’s 9:00 am, the sun is not shining and outside looks like the North Pole (but I’m too much of cranky nutcase to be Santa Claus). The only good thing about all of this snow is that it fills in all the potholes on the road – this is a big deal because Saskatoon has more potholes and bumps in the road than straight, flat road. Which is ironic because Saskatchewan is so flat that you can watch your dog run away for three days.

Anyways, I have no new piece of writing to post today either. If you’re really all that interested, I should have something in the next few days. I just don’t have much time to edit anything because I’m participating in this tiny little thing called NaNoWriMo. You may not have heard of it….it’s not like it’s been in my blog ten times and I really didn’t have about four posts dedicated to just NaNoWriMo, so don’t feel bad if you don’t know what I’m talking about.

Now, I named this post “When Hell Freezes Over”, because when I look outside that’s what I see. It’s only November! I mean, granted if it got any warmer my igloo would melt, but do we really need all this snow? Believe it or not but sled dogs go much faster when there is not a foot of snow to plough through. Can you believe this, eh?

Just for your benefit, the freezing cold and lots of snow part is true. The rest? Well, if you believe that, you should go…….how about just look at a map.

So NaNoWriMo is really happening, we’re already at Day 3. By the end of Day 2 I was at around 9.5k, but I feel like it’s almost time to start falling behind. I work all day today and tomorrow, so won’t have much time to write. And there’s this little exam I have Monday, and another one on Wednesday. And an essay due Wednesday and another one on Friday and the list goes on and on. Sufficed to say, I started strong but I can totally feel it going downhill from here. Of course, I could be writing my novel right now instead of this post, but that would be practical.

And, actually, when I’m not writing I find I’m doing anything but studying. Good ol’ procrastination…we’ve been good buddies for a while now. Like, I’m starting to get addicted to Twitter, I’ve been all over the NaNoWriMo forums and I even offer my parents to help with dishes – just so we’re clear, that never happens. I guess I could clean my room….when you end up having to walk across clothes to get out, I think it’s getting pretty bad. Or, instead of all this crap I could just write. But sometimes that is a challenge. I know what’s going to happen next in my novel, but I stopped writing at midnight last night because I just couldn’t write anymore. If I had the energy of a horny rabbit I could probably go all night – that is, write all night.

So, I’ve got to get some real work done now. Unfortunately I’m talking about this garbage they make you do in school. It’s not fair. I pay so much money for them to give me work? It’s like paying to have a full time job! Anyway, that’s my rant. I’ve got to get cracking so I can finish this stuff before I go to work so that when I get home tonight I can just write.

How’s NaNo going for you guys? Anything exciting going on in your novels? Are you already at that point, like me, where you feel you need to take a break and not think about your novel for a a solid couple hours?

Thanks for reading.

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Family, Life, Writing | Tags: , , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Day 3: When Hell Freezes Over

  1. I’m doing okay with my progress. I already had the idea of what I wanted to write about, and decided to use Nano and the starting point to get the WIP going.

    I haven’t updated my word count on the Nano site. It was running very slow when I logged in on Thursday. At some point I’ll log back on and update my progress.

    I’m not going to stress if I don’t meet the 50K goal. As long as I make significant progress on my novel, I’ll be happy.

    Well, enjoy the igloo. 🙂 For me, I suppose one of the perks of living in the desert climate is that it’s November and I can still go for a swim.

  2. Progress is slow, but I am moving along. 3300 words so far and I haven’t started today’s quota yet. Good luck to you!

  3. So far so good for me. I’ve already taken a surprise turn in my story–a minor one, but still a surprise. So I’m going somewhere with it.

    • Surprise turns are the best. It’s what makes writing fun! When I right, I never know 100% and it’s fun to learn about what’s going as you write! Thanks for reading.

  4. Shauna

    lol I remember the good old exam-time procrastination. That was the time when my room was spotless! I totally get where you’re coming from! Good luck with everything – it’ll somehow all get done! 🙂

    • Thanks! My room is yet to be spotless…I doubt it will ever be. But I get the procrastination! Thanks for reading!

  5. NaNo? Why do you think I’m here reading about your NaNo? Procrastination. My favorite word. Can I put these twenty-six words in my count today?

    • I know how you feel. It’s my favourite word and my most hated word. I have lots of homework that keeps piling up, so please feel sorry for me. It’ll make me feel better! 😉 and you can use your twenty-six if I can use my forty seven words….

    • I guess I should have said that I write NaNo to procrastinate from doing schoolwork, so my procrastination actually leads to lots of words written. There’s a snowball’s chance in hell that I’d write an essay to procrastinate from NaNo haha

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

