Day 1 and I’m Already Crashing

I’ve come to realize that staying up until after 2:00 am is really not a great idea, especially when you have university the next morning. Coffee can save you from this wretched state of sleep deprivation for a little while in the morning, but it soon wears off. When you have to walk for fifteen minutes in -15 degrees Celsius with a crazy, freezing wind, just so you can take the bus to school, try and stay awake through a couple of classes, take the bus back, walk home in even colder wind, by the time you actually get home you’re ready to pass out. And the best way to end this wonderful day is having to go back to the university in three hours for a class at four in the afternoon. By the time I eat lunch, and get some homework done, there’s no time for an afternoon nap. Well, another coffee should take care of this.

Okay, so the Keurig needs to be filled with water. No big deal. I’ll just fill it now and get my favourite coffee – what? We’re out of Caramel Vanilla Cream K-Cups?! My life will go on, it’ll just be very, very depressing. I guess I’ll just have to my other favourite flavour, Mocha Nut Fudge. Oh wait, we’re out of that too. And Butter Toffee. And Breakfast Blend. And French Vanilla. And Columbian. And Christmas Blend. What the hell???

These were my exact thoughts when I realized the only K-Cups we do have at the moment are Decaf, some strawberry crap and this Nuits Parisienne which is blacker than outer space. Yuck!

Maybe all this leftover candy from Halloween will do the trick, though.

So, this was pretty much the gist of my day. On a brighter note, when I was up until 2, I managed to write 4,644 words! I’m not sure where it came from, because that’s a lot of words for two hours, but it happened. Now I’m peeing my pants with excitement because this is practically two days ahead of where I need to be for NaNoWriMo, and I still have more of today to procrastinate on school assignments and write! On a whole, life is good. It may be freezing outside, I might not have any good coffee, I may be just slightly behind in school, but I got to write today so it was a good day.

So, how is NaNo going for everyone else? I know it’s only November 1st, but you may have a funny, or interesting, story to share about NaNo. Feel free to share your thoughts.

If you’re feeling particularly sorry for me, you already know my favourite K-Cups and it’s no problem for me to give you my address. I’ll gladly accept them as gifts!

Good luck for the rest of November and thanks for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Family, Life, Nanowrimo, Photography, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Day 1 and I’m Already Crashing

  1. Great post! Thanks for the nod!

  2. Oh, and leftover Halloween candy (or early raiding) has lead to lights off and beer-drinking at my house.

  3. NaNo is going well for me so far. Reading your post makes me glad my college days are long over with. I can sit by the fire and write on cold wintery days. See what you have to look forward to one day? Congrats on your 4,644 words! It sounds like you’re off to a great start!

    • One day….in the distant future after college eats my soul…..Yeah, I’m so excited! Thanks for reading! 🙂

  4. Way to go with the writing. 🙂

  5. Pingback: NaNoWriMo is eating my brain and my time … and it’s only day one « Irreverent Review

  6. Pingback: Welcome to NaNoWriMo 2012 | jrwritesthings

  7. Jen

    Great job with the word count! I see you’re at 9.5k now, that’s amazing! I’m also doing NaNoWriMo, but I got started 2 1/2 days late so I’ll be writing like crazy – like I wouldn’t be anyways, but still. 🙂 I added you as a buddy on the NaNo site, hope you don’t mind!

    • No, don’t mind at all. I needed to get ahead in the beginning because I know I’ll get behind! Every year I get to like day 22 or 23 and I have only 30k. It can be stressful, plus I need to do what I can in the beginning because I’ve got three midterms and five essays due from Nov. 7 to Nov. 30 haha It’s gonna be crazy!! Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

