What’s On Your Bookshelf?

So, I’m gonna post Part 2 of my story What If It All Means Something sometime this evening, but I wanted to show off a few pictures of my bookshelf first. It’s a little excessive, but I love it.

As you can see, there’s a little more than just books on this shelf…like a TV, Xbox 360, video games, movies, a Millennium Falcon and Superman, but there are a lot of books. Physically, the shelf measures about 7’6″ high by 10′ wide. It was built by my dad and has to be bolted into the wall. It’s massive. Floor to ceiling, wall to wall and, apart from all the other stuff, there’s about 800 books on this shelf.

A lot are from my parents collecting books since they’ve been married (there’s about 350 Star Trek books they gave me). I have over 100 Star Wars, that I bought myself over the years, as well as random other books I’ve got as gifts, etc. A large number of them, too, have come from my mom’s job. She works at a library, and when they withdraw books from circulation – for various reasons from it being old, not popular, they have multiple copies they don’t need anymore, etc. – they usually end up recycling them – a crime, I know! So, she always brings books home for my family in case there’s something we want. Sufficed to say, I’m never in short supply of reading material. It’s fricken awesome.

And my favourite books on the shelf are the ones in the last picture, all of the great classics. They’re all beautiful, leather-bound books with gold-edged pages and what not. Very, very, very nice. I bought a lot of them at Barnes and Noble – they only cost $20.00 ea, which is a great price for the quality of the books. And of course, my 50th Anniversary of Lord of the Rings which is the most beautiful book I have ever seen in my life.

Is this bookshelf too much? Don’t be ridiculous, of course not!

Does anyone else have anything this crazy? That’s my question to you.

What’s on your bookshelf?

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Family, Life, Photography, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 34 Comments

Post navigation

34 thoughts on “What’s On Your Bookshelf?

  1. You know I’ve been buildign a collection just liek this and I am REALLY running out of space!!

    • I know! That’s my problem. This book shelf was half the size before, and was exploding! Now it’s nicer because I only have one row of books on each shelf – so far – and nearly two full shelves free! Life is good….

  2. Color me jealous. Amazing bookshelf…so jealous!

    • Thanks! I get that a lot….haha I’m very fortunate that I’ve got a great dad who built it for me….but because its bolted to the wall he says when I move out it has to stay. šŸ˜¦ that could be in the next couple of years when I finish school! So I’ll have to enjoy it lots till then haha

    • See, as much as I’d probably like not moving out (I’m not ashamed to admit it), at some point I think my parents would kick me out! And, because I’m a writer and a student of the arts, I have no handiwork skills at all….so maybe in like 5 or 6 year when I’m able to buy my own house, I’ll just get my dad to build me something like this there…. He’d do it, too!

  3. Pingback: What If It All Means Something – Part 2 « What If It All Means Something

  4. So many shelves, so many books! Love it!

  5. My shelves are cardboard boxes, and stacks on Persian rugs in basements at the moment. I do not regret this, however, they are not very photogenic. Newest to them are a few gems: ‘Crazy Like Us’, a look at how the US influences other cultures (and how it doesn’t), the newest collection of short stories by Sloane Crosley (one day I will learn how to write catchy, witty non-fiction, too!), and a book about Alaska, which are mostly all the same, unless the author’s name is Lynn Schooler.

    • All of my books used to be in boxes in the closet. I’m so glad I have this now though. I haven’t read much of Sloane Crosley, and you won’t find her on mu shelf, but I loved her “I Was Told There’d Be Cake”. Thanks for reading.

      • I read Cake a few years ago and loved it. Just found her newest – How’d you get this number, I believe it’s called – and so far, it’s great. Recommended. Thanks to you.

    • I’ll have to check it out sometime! Thanks.

  6. mariethea

    Ah, my parents donated their shelves of Star Trek before I got into it myself. Might be a little jealous šŸ™‚

    Someday I’ll buy a house strictly so I can have built in bookshelves like that. Your dad is awesome šŸ™‚

    • Yeah…it’s pretty awesome. When I buy a house…..I want a whole room that looks like this haha Thanks for reading

  7. I am more jealous that I can put into words. Awesome book shelves!

    • Lots of people didn’t believe me when I said thy are wall to wall and floor to ceiling, until they saw them in person or in photos. Sometimes, I can hardly believe it and I just stare at it, looking at all my books because I love reading. I’m gonna have a hell of a time when I move out though haha thanks for reading and stopping by!

  8. Great bookshelf! And a great idea about posting what’s on it. I have several smaller bookshelves scattered throughout the house. šŸ™‚

    • Thanks. I didn’t get to touch on everything that’s on it….but this post would increase in size by tenfold if I did haha I still live at home with my parents while I’m in university, but when I get my house I really want a room just like this! And, of course, I’d love to have decorative bookshelves all over. But I need my own place first…haha Thanks for stopping by.

  9. I have books on my bookshelves along with a lot of pictures. The books are mine ant the pictures are my wife’s idea. šŸ™‚

  10. Pingback: Broken Picture Frames (A Poem) « What If It All Means Something

  11. Pingback: In Case You Wanted To Know… « What If It All Means Something

  12. I WISH ! I can’t wait until I can accumulate this many.

    And also thank you for following my blog, I can’t wait to hear more from you!

    • I know…books are great. It’s like an addiction…because I always seem to acquire a lot more than I can actually read so as I get more books the ratio between books read and books unread keeps going down. I guess I’ll never run out of stuff to read this way haha Thanks for reading!

  13. Classics + Star Wars + Samsung + Superheroes = Perfection! I like the Alex Rider books above the epic Millennium Falcon as well. I’ve kept my copies through Scorpia too!

    • I had to keep Alex Rider. I enjoyed them many years ago but I still have to keep them! Thanks for the comment and thanks for reading

  14. Pingback: Sheba « What If It All Means Something

  15. Pingback: Lucifer’s Library and Other Great Places To Visit « What If It All Means Something

  16. You had me at that picture of the Millennium Falcon. So cool!!

    Sadly, I’ve lost a lot of my books from moving around a lot but I have managed to hold onto a few and am beginning to rebuild the collection. Hopefully one day I’ll have a shelf as impressive as that one!

    • Thanks. I love my Millennium Falcon, and the Superman too! šŸ™‚ When I finish school and get my own house, I want a whole room just like this! Thanks for reading

  17. Tons of fantasy, tons of classics (Austen for the win), tons of children’s books, and my collection of copies of a Christmas Carol. hey, everybody’s got to collect something.

    • Nice nice! I enjoy Fantasy and Sci-Fi the most, but I do love my classics. Christmas Carol is awesome! I have two versions of that one, too (although on is in a Charles Dickens 5-novels-in-1 book) haha Yes, everybody’s got to collect something! I just happen to collect many somethings! Thanks for the comment!!

  18. Pingback: What’s on my Bookshelf? | Not Dead Words

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

