NaNoWriMo Anyone?

Hey all, I was reading some other blog posts on NaNo (which is, as I’ve gone over like twenty times before because I love it so much, National Novel Writing Month). This will be my seventh year, and I’m ecstatic. I can’t wait for November.

Anyways, I was just interested in hearing any stories anyone has about NaNo. How many times have you done it? Do you have any interesting, funny, etc. stories?

Well, here’s a story of mine. The first year I tried NaNo, I thought for sure I wasn’t going to finish. It was like day 25 and I had maybe 30k. I ended up writing over 10k in one day, and started feeling better. By November 30, I still needed 5k. It was a very stressful and rushed evening for me as I tried desperately to finish. I ended up calling a friend to give me an idea to write about, which he did. It pushed me to write as fast as I could and I ended up with 50,008 words at 11:55 pm. I submitted my story with JUST enough time to get authorized as a winner, and it was the most satisfying moment of my writing career.

So, what are your NaNo stories and how do you approach planning for and writing NaNo?

-Will

Categories: Life, Nanowrimo, Writing | Tags: , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Anyone?

  1. I never do any planning, but that’s how I write the rest of the time as well. I discover the story as I go, and it rarely ends up where I thought it would. One of my proudest NaNo moments was when I brought a character back to life that I’d killed off earlier with no explanations, no backtracking. Fix it in the rewrite, that’s my motto.

  2. You have a good motto. I’m the same way. I never ‘plan’ or write an outline, I just think about what’s going to happen. And, a lot of the time, I decide as I’m writing. Thanks for the comment.

  3. Pingback: Advice From Mommy & Daddy « What If It All Means Something

  4. Pingback: Taken By Surprise | Plot Configuration Parameters

  5. Pingback: Dark Sister, Dark Skye « What If It All Means Something

  6. I love NaNoWriMo! I don’t always win (I think I’ve lost more than I’ve won!) but I always enjoy it. I’ve learned a lot about how I write and gotten a lot more words through NaNoWriMo than I would have otherwise.

    • That’s awesome. Usually after I shamefully brag about winning each of the six years I’ve done NaNoWriMo, I then get to the serious part. NaNo is not about winning or losing, writing a full novel or ever trying to get published. NaNoWriMo is all about writing and having fun while doing it, plus there are lots of ways to connect with other writers around the world. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Pingback: Why NaNoWriMo Is Like Christmas « What If It All Means Something

  8. Ima newb. This will be my first year participating. I do it know I will most likely ‘fail’, but I have a new story idea and hope to use NaNoWriMo to jumpstart the draft.

    • Thanks for commenting. And, really, you can never ‘fail’. They call it winning just for extra encouragement, and then people like me can brag about it, but as long as you participate and write something, you’re much more of a winner than a loser. It’s all about writing. It’s not how much time you spend writing, or how good what you’ve written is. What really matters is how much you enjoyed writing what you did! 🙂

  9. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Here I Come « What If It All Means Something

  10. Pingback: Day 1 and I’m Already Crashing « What If It All Means Something

  11. Pingback: 7 Tips For NaNoWriMo « What If It All Means Something

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

