What If It All Means Nothing

So thanks to everyone who liked my first two posts. Makes me feel better about this blogging stuff. I originally thought…who the hell is gonna wanna listen to what I have to say? I thought I’d have to write pretending someone was reading…but I’m glad it’s been good so far. That would’ve been awkward: “Yeah, I have a blog. Just no one reads it….like no one talked to me at school!” (Hehe just kidding…slightly…I had a FEW friends when I was in school).
So anyway, maybe you want to know a little more about me? Maybe you could care less, too!
Anyways! My name is Will, and I’m a undergrad student at the University of Saskatchewan. If you don’t know where that is it’s in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada. (I had someone ask me once if Saskatchewan was the rectangle in the middle of Canada. At that point, I just laughed at them (shameful, I know) – so, to finally answer that question – if you were a waiter at Baba Gump’s Shrimp in Time Square, NY and you ever asked a group of young adults this question – the answer is yes. Saskatchewan is the rectangle in the middle of Canada. Great, I live in a fricken box).
Back to what I said I was gonna talk about. My favourite subject! ME! I’ll be 20 years old right around Christmas time: so any creeps browsing, find another blog. I’m probably too old for you! I’ve been writing since I was very young (before I can remember) and I’m still pounding out a specific style. I write a lot of science fiction and fantasy (what can I say, I’m a nerd – which apparently is trendier these days). I do, though, like to write some ‘real life’ type of fiction, including some stuff loosely based on different situations I’ve had to face in my life. So we may read some of that too. I’ve dabbled in poetry…though I don’t think I’m any good at that! I’ve also written a few screenplays. There is one thing I do every year which I think every writer should be apart of. Every November I take part in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). Basically, it’s a website dedicated to writing. Anyone can join and the point is to try and write a 50,000 word novel in the 30 day timeframe. Apart from this, it is an opportunity to connect with a huge, online community of writers. There are general forums anyone in the world can write in, and there are regional, localized forums specific to your city or region so that you can meet other people in your community who love the same thing. So please check it out: the link is on the side of my blog. I’ve done it the last 6 years, this will be my seventh. I’ve gotten the 50,000 word goal ever ytime (please, hold your applause). It’s a lot of fun and I recommend it to everyone. There is no pressure to write lots, just what you can; any # of words is to be commended because writing is a wonderful thing. Everyone is welcome and it’s tons of fun! Okay, what else? I take a Filipino martial art called Sikaran. I’ve been in the class for 8 years now and I have my black belt. Keeps me active and good looking ;). I really enjoy reading…I have a small library! I collect comic books (Superman is my favourite). I also collect coins (Canadian and American mostly). just some fun things I like to do with my time and money – money that I earn working in the kitchen at a retreat house! This is me in a nutshell. A very small nutshell, but that is that! You’ll have lots more opportunity to enrich your lives with information about me! Thanks for reading.
Till Next,
-Will

Categories: Life, Writing | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

