The Song

For those of you who recognize the title of this blog and know where it came from: we’re going to get along just fine. For those of you who recognize the title, but are not quite sure where it comes from: I can deal with that. However, for those of you who do not recognize the title at all: shame on you.
I chose to call my blog “What If It All Means Something” because it is the title of one of my favourite songs by one of my favourite singers, Chantal Kreviazuk.

Chantal Kreviazuk

Yes, that picture is of Chantal Kreviazuk, the wonderfully talented, beautiful and Canadian singer/songwriter/pianist. The song “What If It All Means Something”, is the title track of her third album which came out in 2002. It was written by Kreviazuk and her husband, Raine Maida (yes, the singer of Our Lady Peace). The reason why I chose this title is really an interesting one…to me anyway.
I had always liked the song, but never really understood what it meant. I guess I was too young to really understand it, but in the last few years it has really fascinated me as I’m coming to understand what it means for me. Last year, I liked the song so much I wanted to write a novel with that title, because I thought it was a brilliant title and would be different from lots out there. Sufficed to say, though, I started this novel last year and it has been going so slow…slower than my mom trying to get down the stairs…that I figured I have a snowball’s chance in hell of finishing this novel. (And don’t worry, I love my mother. I’m kind of a momma’s boy actually. She just makes fun of me a lot, so I make fun of her. It’s our thing. And I bug my dad too. He get’s his fair share. As does my sister and brothers and even my friends. Basically I’m just a jerk to everyone. My friends always tell me I don’t like them, but I just hate them less than everyone else. But it’s all just for a laugh, so if you find it offensive at all…it’s time to get over yourself).
Anyways, back to my story. I figured that this novel (which is currently only 4 pages after 1 year) was just about ready to be scrapped, so I wanted to find another way to use this song’s title because it really is such a nice phrase. But I didn’t know how…until I thought about blogging one day. I’ve tried to get publish in a couple magazines before, tried a few short story submissions to anthologies and have tried only once to publish a novel (not too ambitious, I know), but so far have no luck. I’m working on a novel which I consider my best and want to try to get published once I finish it, but until then I figured…how am I gonna get some of this writing out?
And it’s funny, because I actually had never thought of blogging before and I didn’t discover it through wanting to share my work, I came across it in looking for work. A couple days ago I was browsing different magazines looking for writers to hire, when I found a job posting wanting a writer to write a weekly blog for a magazine. And that’s when it occurred to me: oh my gosh! I could start my own blog! It was a revelation. I’m telling you…I’m so disconnected from social networking that it had never crossed my mind…
And as soon as I read that I instantly thought of a blog called “What If It All Means Something”. And here we are, two days after this revelation and I’m having an awesome time. My anticipation for this project is out the roof, but I’ll try to contain myself. Don’t want to have any accidents or anything.
Anyways (man, I say that a lot don’t I), please check out Chantal Kreviazuk’s wonderful catalog of music, support a really good Canadian artist, and, of course, keep reading my blog.
I’m gonna post some writing next time (guess I gotta get to the point of this whole blog, don’t I). So in the next day or so, come back to read for that! I also will prob post another pic (isn’t that first one I posted just breathtaking? I’m glad the plane windows were clean!) and I’ve got some entertaining stories to tell about my life, childhood and family. But we’ll get there eventually. Thanks for reading!


Till Next,
-Will

Categories: Life, Photography, Writing | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “The Song

  1. Reblogged this on What If It All Means Something and commented:

    I get a lot of people asking me why I named my blog “What If It All Means Something” and what that means (to me). I’ve been blogging since October of 2012, almost exactly 5 months. I know that the meaning of my blog’s title has changed over those five months, but the core values it has (for me) are the same. Here is a post that I wrote and posted EXACTLY five months ago. In it, I explain where I ‘found’ this title, why I decided to use it and what it means to me. Enjoy this little treasure from my blog’s archives! šŸ™‚
    Thanks for reading!
    Till Next,
    -Will

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

