My Life Is Okay (A Poem)

This poem really needs no introduction, but I will say a few small words (sometimes I just can’t help myself). I wrote this poem as a reminder to myself that no matter what happens, everything is okay. No matter how much I mess up, or no matter how bad things get, my life is going to be okay and, indeed, I am going to be okay.

It’s almost been a kind of prayer for me, because I am a perfectionist and I am harder on myself than I am anyone else. Even if I make the slightest misstep, I get furious with myself. And, when something does not go as planned, I tend to get far more annoyed and upset than is really necessary. It’s easy to see the negative side of things, but it’s important not to be too down on ourselves. Some things are just out of our control.

And if we mess up, no matter what mistakes we make, it’s important to remember that we can always fix what is broken. Making mistakes is really okay. Life doesn’t stop when it starts getting bad, so why should we?

.

My Life Is Okay

A Poem by William Louison

254

(Source: http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-A4lkiSL8LJg/Tty8K5LXqWI/AAAAAAAAFpQ/11age_CCaQ4/s1600/254.jpg)

.

I’m just lying here

In a beautiful hideaway

Symptoms of my life

Seem so far away

Embraced by the pictures on the wall

Which I know one day will fall

.

And the colour of these walls

Doesn’t really matter

Because all my blue eyes see is blue

And despite the falling skies

Or the silence in your eyes

I know that one thing is true

.

I’m not smart

I’m real slow

And I’ve got nowhere to go

.

I’m not strong

Neither fast

And I know my luck won’t last

.

But if I fail

I’ll keep going

Because there’ll be no way of knowing

.

And If I fall

I’ll be able to say

My life is okay

.

Yes, when I fall

I will still be able to say

.

That my life is okay

.

Thanks for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Life, Poetry, Writing | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “My Life Is Okay (A Poem)

  1. Yes! That’s a thought you should hold on to! You created a wonderful poem here Will, it reads like a song, I really like that! :)
    Lots of love and hugz

  2. Will! How’s life?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Worlds Apart

a look at my life

The Limes of Bindia

This isn't a blog but the venting and incongruous rantings of a teenager mostly joined by an inglorious side kick.

My Side of the Street

Loving the sacred through word and image. God's Warriors Judaism...Just another WordPress.com Web Log.

Collectables

A Bit Here, A Bit There, Until We Reach the End

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

Julian Froment's Blog

Life, Literature and Lewd Comments

Squirrelly Writer

Jumping from one tree to the next, gathering my acorns of wisdom

El Space--The Blog of L. Marie

Thoughts about writing and life

My Un-Puzzled Heart

poetry, writings, and photography

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 380 other followers

