Leaf (A Poem)

I’ve tried many times to classify this poem – attempting to categorize it with the rest of my poetry. Yet, every time that I read it back to myself I know that it is not a love poem, nor is it a poem about self discovery. It is not about heartache, loneliness, happiness or triumph. I certainly couldn’t catalogue it with my poems about overcoming obstacles, breaking free or even falling backwards.

To this day, I still cannot place where this poem should fit into my archives. I’ve never written anything quite like it. It really does belong to its own category. Even more interesting is that every time I read this poem it takes on a different meaning for me. A lot of my poetry holds the original meaning that it had when I wrote it. I feel like my poems are little snapshots of my own personal life, and each poem represents a minute moment from my life story.

This poem, however, is different. I can’t sit here and tell you what it means to me because I don’t think that I’ve quite discovered its full meaning yet. All I can do is offer this poem to you, and leave it to your interpretation. After all, no matter what kind of light I painted this poem in, you would still be prone to your own interpretation and reading of it. Nothing I say or don’t say can change that.

So, I guess I’m hoping that you’ll find some meaning between my words here, because I’m still trying to understand just what it is I was saying.

Enjoy.

.

Leaf

A Poem by William Louison

maple leaf

The air is cold and a subtle leaf finds a home

On the ground that once felt so close

But to our aging eyes is now

Much too far away

.

The leaf will die

The wind is saying as it

Carries the leaf to a more suitable

Resting place

.

But this is the way of all things

For the way of all things is life and death

There may be many roads to travel

But they all lead to the same final destination

.

Thank you for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Related articles
Categories: Poetry, Writing | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Leaf (A Poem)

  1. Very nice Will! I love it! :)
    To me, this is a poem about accepting things that can’t be changed and be at peace with that. So maybe it does fit into the category about self discovering, or acceptance? I don’t know, but it’s a fact that it speaks to me as I have a hard time accepting things I can’t change myself!
    Hugz
    Patty

    • I think you just nailed it! You should’ve written the description for me.
      And I feel the same way…but sometimes we have to accept what we can’t change and let the wind take us where it will (much easier said than done!)

      • :)
        Yes, you are right. But I am a fighter by nature. If I can’t change something by fighting for it, I get confused! Lol. Something I have to learn I suppose. ;)
        Hugz

  2. Reblogged this on petitemagique and commented:
    Beautiful must read poem by my friend Will!

  3. Will, Wonderful! Eternal, universal truths are rediscovered throughout civilization as you have done here with the leaf telling the story of the circle of life. This was very popular & still is in the book, “The Fall of Freddie the Leaf”, 1982, Holt, Rinehart & Winston publisher, by Leo Buscaglia, Ph.D. He was know as Dr. Love, becoming famous on Public TV in the USA in the 1970’s & 80’s ending his TV lectures by inviting the audience to come up & give him a HUG!!! This was controversial at the time, like he was a liberal, radical kook! He was a loving wonderful man! I’ve read & own eight of his 13 or more books. The two that capture the soul of his ideas are “Living, Loving & Learning,” 1982, & “Papa, My Father,” 1989. Thanks to Patty for bring us to you! Phil from http://excuseusforliving.com/

  4. Reblogged this on georgeforfun.

  5. It is an interesting poem to read, at least for me. For some reason I have written several poems that feature leaves and their movement or play or what they represent. I know what you mean about having a hard time putting it in its place. I think many poets write about leaves and I think that none of those poems are about leaves, they are all about something else. So if you put it in a category about leaves, that would cover it. I like it.

  6. Reblogged this on Ace Worldwide Goods & Services News and commented:
    #AWS2014 #mustread

  7. Nice one Will, been a while I read your work. Miss u tho..
    Keep writing

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,298 other followers

