NaNoWriMo Day 12 – The Good, The Bad and The Unwritten

Today was a bit of a weird day for me. I’m still getting over the flu, so I haven’t been eating a lot. I’ve been just drained of energy all weekend, and it kind of got the best of me today. I slept until 11:00 am, which NEVER happens with me. After I dragged my sick, lazy butt out of bed, I went to my Grandma’s house for a visit and a small lunch – she usually cooks me a twenty course meal, no lie, but she knew I was sick so she stuck to homemade chicken noodle soup with homemade noodles. Yum….

Instead of going straight home from my Grandma’s, I decided it was necessary for me to stop at Best Buy and purchase Halo 4, which is turning out to be a great game. By the time I got home it was 3:00 pm. This is not much of a problem until I realized two things: I have a midterm tomorrow that I have not studied for and, more importantly, I have not written anything in my NaNoWriMo novel today. Normally, I’d ditch the studying so that I could write but I figured I could manage a couple hours of studying because yesterday, the 11th, I passed the 20,000 word mark, which is the word goal for today, the 12th.

With this in mind I so righteously decided not to write today but to study instead. I would spend the rest of my day studying for my History of Rome midterm tomorrow, so that I was well prepared and could knock it out of the park. I got out all of my class notes, started to read and condense them into smaller notes, highlighting the main details. I was so excited that I was getting so much work done.

It lasted five minutes.

I’m not sure what I did for the rest of the afternoon, but I got distracted on Twitter, reading blogs and the like for the next three hours. By the time I realized I had wasted my whole day away, and the sun had already set (around 6:00 pm…it’s sad), I decided I better get back to work. So I pulled out my notes to continue studying.

Again, it lasted five minutes.

Mom finished making supper and I went to eat. Soup again, but very good. I didn’t eat a lot, but it went slow (on purpose) and by the time I had finished my parents started watching Dancing With The Stars. Knowing full well I had a moral obligation to study, I decided to take interest in a show I rarely watched and sit down (just for five minutes, I told myself) to watch world champion dancers dance with famous people like Apollo Anton Ohno, Emmit Smith, Kirstie Alley and more. Surprisingly, it was more entertaining than I imagined it would be, and it helped waste two hours of my time.

Now, it was 9:00 pm and I HAD to get back to studying. I sat down to start reading (class notes are incredibly dull when you try to study from them).

You already know what I’m going to say. It lasted five minutes.

I decided to text my best friend that I had bought Halo 4 today. Now, he didn’t text me. He didn’t ask me to play. It was I who initiated the conversation. I told him I bought it and he responded with a simple question: “Are you going to try it?”

Instead of telling him, “No, I wasn’t going to try it because I had a midterm,” I decided to respond with a question of my own: “I want to. Are you going to be playing tonight?”

This is how I initiated asking him to play and then started playing. We played online (with headsets and all) and went for about two and half hours. It was incredibly fun. I hadn’t touched my XBOX 360 since September, so it was nice to play. Real nice. By the time I got off, I decided I would get back to studying.

Like all the other times to today, that didn’t happen. This is how I ended up writing this blog post at ten minutes to midnight with a zero word count for today and have accomplished no studying. Great.

On the plus side, I’m still on track for NaNoWriMo. My word count is 20,055, so I just need to write my 1,700 tomorrow and I’ll be good. Also on the bright side, I am so incredibly used to staying up till all hours of the night cramming for stuff like midterms. I’m pretty good at cramming, too. Hopefully it won’t be too bad. All I’m asking for is an 80%. Is that too much to ask? I don’t think so.

Well, if you care to share how NaNo is going for you, I’d love to hear about it. That’s my polite way of saying: “Comment, damnit!”

Other than that, I really have to get to studying.

Thanks for reading!

Till Next,

-Will

Categories: Family, Life, Writing | Tags: , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 12 – The Good, The Bad and The Unwritten

  1. Pingback: What Kind of Champion are You? Sprint, Middle or Long Distance? « bridgesburning

  2. You know that post is rife with a mother’s worst nightmares about her college student, right? Yikes, boy… ;)

    • Trust me, I know. That’s why I sometimes ‘forget’ to mention to my mother if I have a test coming up. Unless she asks me to do something, in which case I am all over studying! Really, though, it’s bound to happen and this is procrastination at its best. In my defense I’m getting over the flu (sob story, I know) and I am an honours student with a fairly high average so I think I’m okay! It’s just history…and I’ve got a good memory. We’re like a match made in academic heaven. :)

  3. Pingback: NaNo ’12 Day 12 | Side Quest Publications

  4. Pingback: Are You Stuck in the Squishy Middle? « Sonia G Medeiros

  5. Congratulations on staying on pace, especially with Halo 4 in your house! I find it too demoralizing if I’m behind my word count, so I try to make at least the minimum every day. It’s going well, although I really need to figure out what happens next.

    • Yeah…this is the first year I’ve been ahead pretty much the whole way through. I usually get behind…and have to have a day of INTENSE writing to get back on track. Good job for keeping pace! We’re almost halfway! Yay! How many times have you done NaNo?

      • This is my seventh time doing it. It’s pretty fun, eh? There’s nothing like the energy of several hundred thousand people all writing novels at the same time.

    • I totally agree!! Such a blast! This is also my seventh year, too! Lucky #7 for us both! :)

    • Let’s hope! I’ll keep my fingers crossed and you knock on wood! haha ;)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,298 other followers

